23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Salmonella Dub - Salmonella Dub – Freak Local EP Review.

03 Aug 2009 // A review by JohnS
When asked if I would review the new Salmonella Dub album I was a little uneasy as we are all asking, will they still be the same or have they moved on to bigger and better things, would the disappearance of Tiki be noticeable or have they filled the void that is expected to be left. Well my friends I can honestly say they have done a great job with this EP keeping to their roots. Unfortunately this means you get the same sound as you’re used to from the band. Hopefully the album comes with a few surprises

The opening track titled 'Freak Local' does wet your appetite with a familiar backing sound and the ever-present horns ensemble but alas the rest of the album was very similar with nothing really outstanding hitting my eardrums.

The one track that did sort of catch my interest was the forth track entitled 'Ding Megal' but this still was not up to what we know and love from this band. It seams like the Linkin Park effect has sprung again where bands keep doing the same thing they know and is exactly what we expect from them. It is another example of good NZ dub with crispy recording and great production but sadly it felt a little empty. If you liked the previous releases then you will enjoy this album.

Ps. Don’t miss the aptly named 'Clicking Tock' winner of the John’s best track name of the year gold star.
 

About Salmonella Dub

Salmonella Dub’s auspicious 7th studio album, the incredibly dynamic Freak Controller graced record store shelves and the dub world in November 2009 and Freak Controller Madness was released in 2010.

Formed more than twenty years ago in Christchurch, Salmonella Dub have rightfully been called the pioneers and originators of a unique Pacific style of Dub/Drum n Bass/Reggae/Hip Hop and Groove based Rock. Acts such as Fat Freddy’s Drop, Scribe and P-Money, Shapeshifter, Cornerstone Roots, Kora, King Kapisi as well as the new wave of Australian acts like Budspells, Rastawookie, King Tide, Red Eyes, and the likes, can all thank Salmonella Dub for paving the way to opening Australian ears to an alternative to a music scene that was largely house influenced dance music or straight guitar rock.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Salmonella Dub

Releases

Commercial Grates 2018 Version
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Same Home Town
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Freak Controller Madness
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Freak Local
Year: 2009
Type: EP
Freak Controller
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Re-Bottled
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Heal Me
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Remixes And Radio Cuts
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Mercy
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Outtakes & Remixes
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Dub For Straights : 1993 Sessions
Year: 2004
Type: Album
One Drop East
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Salmonella Dub
Year: 2002
Type: DVD
Outside The Dub Plates
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Inside The Dub Plates
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Colonial Dub
Year: 2000
Type: EP
Killervision
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Calming Of A Drunken Monkey
Year: 1997
Type: Album
THC Winter
Year: 1996
Type: EP
Dub Tom Foolery
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Salmonella Dub
Year: 1994
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem