29 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Minuit - Minuit – Find Me Before I Die A Lonely Death Dot Com album review.

03 Aug 2009 // A review by JohnS
I have been eagerly awaiting 'Find Me Before I Die A Lonely Death Dot Com' the new album from Minuit, by wearing thin my copy of their 2003 album 'The 88' it won’t be long until this album turns out to get the same overuse. Minuit have always caught my attention with the unique sound from vocalist Ruth Carr bleeding out from my speakers.

With catchy tunes such as '25 bucks' (which has to be my current favourite from the album) and blood pumping 'Yeah Yeah' and if your more balled inclined there is a lil acoustic ditty titled 'Vampires', either way you get a guaranteed treat with this album. After playing all over the world and even with The Crystal Method in LA, they still remain kiwi as with even a track entitled 'Aotearoa'. You cannot get more kiwi than that eh.

I would class this as move of a Spring/Summer album to put on in the weekend a chill to rather than your usual get ready to go out CD. I can’t wait for their current tour to hit town as I definitely be on my way. Not all in my house like the album but it hit home with me. Top marks, it’s great to see NZ talent coming out in an album such as this.

Minuit are finally touring the country again after being abroad for so long, Please get out there and support some kiwiana as they will be off again before we know it. Don’t miss out!!!!
 

About Minuit

Minuit has a heart. And it beats loud. Real loud.

Having toured their synths and samplers from Hanoi to Helsinki on the live circuit for over a decade, this trio have crafted their own energetic sound – and it's refreshingly different.

Out front, the enigmatic Ruth Carr mixes sinister with salvation in a jubilant cascade of lyrics, while bandmates Ryan Beehre and Paul Dodge forge their rib-rattling, hip-shaking beats around her.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Minuit

Releases

Last Night You Saw This Band
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Aotearoa - The Remixes
Year: 2012
Type: Album
The Guards Themselves
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Guns EP
Year: 2004
Type: EP
The 88
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Except You
Year: 2002
Type: EP
Luck
Year: 2000
Type: EP
Silver
Year: 1999
Type: EP
Sonic Experience
Year: 1998
Type: EP

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem