16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mercury Crowe - Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly Album Review

08 Jun 2009 // A review by Shade
Mercury Crowe are a straight-ahead rock band. They are straight ahead, though, not in that their songs lack inventiveness or freshness, but in the sense that they clearly just want to write good tunes. That’s it. That’s what they’re about. Don’t expect to see them in Mighty Mighty on a Saturday evening doodling away at a synthesiser while wearing stovepipe jeans, or flairs, or whatever the hell it is those indie hipster kids wear these days. No, Mercury Crowe aren’t particularly keen on following trends, playing retro tunes, or fitting in to any particular musical style; they simply want to write interesting, bluesy, memorable rock songs. And they are memorable; they’re damn good songs.

Set Your Mind to Fly is their second EP release, the first being eponymously titled, and the difference between the two recordings is stark. Mercury Crowe was, to be fair, a perfectly enjoyable piece of music, but that’s about it. In the two years since its release, the band has played a whole lot of gigs (more than fifty in 2008 alone) and written a bunch of new songs, and they’ve certainly got their shit together. The weakest song on Set Your Mind to Fly beats the strongest from their first recording easily, while the best really hits the spot and then some. Stand-outs from the EP include ‘Pandora,’ a catchy-as-swine flu ballad that will get in your head and stay there, ‘When the Red Light’s Gone’ (with Ed Zuccollo of Harbour City Electric guesting on the organ, and the phenomenally prolific Lisa Tomlins on back-up vocals), and the damn fine ‘The Game.’

To be fair, not every track on the album is a king-hit winner. But, in order to write this review, I absolutely thrashed this CD for two days straight, and, remarkably, I’m not even close to putting it away on my shelf – I think it’ll be staying in my stereo for some time to come. This, I should perhaps mention, is unusual for me. In short, at the very least I suggest checking these young men out live when you get the opportunity (if this year’s gig schedule is anything like 2008’s this shouldn’t be a problem at all), or, better yet, grab a copy of their beautifully designed, screen-printed and hand-assembled new EP.

Michael Hemminsen – Salient May 2009
 

About Mercury Crowe

‘Set Your Mind to Fly’ - the new album from Wellington’s Mercury Crowe was released in May 2009 to over 600 eagerly awaiting fans in both Auckland and Wellington. Recorded mainly live over three days, the self-produced album sinks comfortably into a range of styles - spanning filthy blues riffs, Beatles-esque harmonies, story telling ballads and foot stomping rock. It also marks a new rough-edged sound for the Crowe who wanted to convey the energy and space of their live shows on the new album.

The nine-track album credits song-writing from all four band members and features long time collaborator Ed Zuccollo (Harbour City Electric) on Hammond Organ, and the phenomenal Lisa Tomlins (Fat Freddies Drop, Hollie Smith) singing backing vocals. It’s a big step forward from their debut e.p ‘Mercury Crowe’ (2007) and, while both were similarly produced, mixed and designed by the band themselves; it’s clear the year-and-a-half between was spent honing their craft from the stage. The result is nine well delivered, road tested, sing-able rock n roll songs.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mercury Crowe

Releases

Set Your Mind To Fly
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Mercury Crowe
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem