21 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Set on End - CD Review – Set On End – Means to an End

08 Jun 2009 // A review by CEOMong
An evocatively presented CD, deliciously rich yet understated; a dark reflection of the ills of society. 5 “real” tracks, plus one eerie intro piece that sets the mood quite nicely.

Beautifully mastered and engineered, this album has a hugely polished quality without sounding pompous or over the top. Real “metalhead” metal, the only problem I have is the short track list!

Track 1 – Macrocosm – Intro

Track 2 – Fire For Amber – catchy and tweaky, I’ve been humming this one for days without even realising.

Track 3 – Victim – awesome work, each verse kicking more ass than the last, nice little hooks throughout and beautiful gax work.

Track 4 – The Last Revelation – kick-ass rapid hook hauls me in, short and abrupt, yet flowing gax coupled with dominant bass and just the right amount of backing drummage provide another example of the power and skill at play here.

Track 5 – Fall Defiled – coasting in off the climax of track 4, the fall solidly rocks on up to the first of a multitude of peaks and valleys each with rapid and slow plateaus. A fantastic track.

Track 6 – Resist: Comply – an epic end to a great album. Gravelly and growly vox, boot tapping rhythms and staunch gax leave me wanting more!

The search continues …
CEO Mong
 

About Set on End

Forming in Auckland, New Zealand, Set on End released their debut EP, Means To An End in 2009, touring solidly and sharing the stage with a number of international touring acts. The band took a significant break in order to work on their creative direction, returning in 2016 with a new line-up and their first full-length album, The Dark Beyond, an evolution of the band's heavy, groove-oriented core.

Recorded between Mindset, and Zorran Mendonsa Productions in Auckland, The Dark Beyond was mixed and engineered by Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt, New Way Home, Saving Grace) and mastered by Ermin Hamidovic (Periphery, Plini, Haunted Shores) at Systematic Productions in Melbourne.

"The album explores humanity's journey as a species and as individuals, striving for a better world, striving to further our knowledge of who and where we are. Sometimes the path we should take is obvious, and at other times we simply wander into the dark, reaching out for the unknown."

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Set on End

Releases

The Dark Beyond
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Means To An End
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem