25 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Midnight Youth - Album Review - The Brave Don't Run

24 May 2009 // A review by amandashootsbands
Naming their debut album The Brave Don’t Run, it’s obvious that the lads of popular kiwi act, Midnight Youth mean business. Having already been chosen to open concerts for the likes of international bands INXS, OK Go and Incubus, they’re clearly not afraid to let their talents shine which has seen them shoot to nationwide stardom over the past year.

Now, if you’ve followed them from their entrance into the NZ music scene, you’ll know that the five piece formed in early 2006, where they quickly wrote and recorded their first single titled Supernatural. The track went on to top viewer request shows like C4’s Select which later saw the boys receiving a Rock FM scholarship to record a new track which came in the form of A New Day. This was released in April 2007 and immediately gained the band the recognition of a new audience along with picking up a spot on the NZ Top 40 and a nomination for the Breakthrough Video of the Year by Juice T.V.

Since then they’ve recorded their debut album not only locally, but in the studios of New York who in the past, have worked with the likes of well known artists, David Bowie and Ryan Adams. Back home with their finished product, the anticipation has been no less than high for the album that has been set up for all the success it deserves from months of hard work and travels.

Gracing our airwaves this year, we’ve already been treated to two singles off the recently released CD – The Letter and All On Our Own. Both of which have received much praise not only from fans, but radio and television presenters alike. Boasting the strong yet smooth vocals of front-man Jeremy Redmore through delightfully poppy music, it’s easy to see how the band is a much admired ‘all rounder’ being played on radio and T.V shows around the country. But if you’re expecting more of the same on The Brave Don’t Run, take my advice now and beware! There’s much more on offer than first meets the eye when it comes to this band and you’re about to find out exactly what it is.

Cavalry. Despite its quite intro, once this song gets going you’ll probably be left wondering if you’re even listening to Midnight Youth. It’s got a rock n’ roll punch that features on a few of the tracks on the album which has changed my perception of the band immensely. Once a clean pop quartet, they’ve now taken on a dirtier side through my eyes, and to be honest, I like it.

Next you’ll be treated to familiar favourite All On Our Own, which is followed by Dead Flowers – a track that is equally as fresh and easy to listen to. It may not have the prettiest of names, but the song itself is beautifully put together and a real listening pleasure. It’s been lovingly sandwiched between another of the lads’ radio hits, The Letter which was released at the end of 2008.
If you’ve ever been in love or had your heart broken, songs like Learning To Fall, Golden Love and Flash have the potential to reduce you to tears with soft vocals and music to match which come as quite the surprise for an album that is for the most part emotionally solid and musically bold.

I love Benjamin and Tijuana. They’re colourful tunes that seem to take on a life of their own, and are definitely ones that would be amazing to see the lads perform live. With hints of one of the bands musical influences - The Mars Volta, it’s wicked to experience such a variety on one disc that fit in together so well. A brilliant debut album from a band that is set to go far.

Amanda Ratcliffe
 

About Midnight Youth

Midnight Youth are a New Zealand rock band and currently based in Australasia.

They formed in 2006 while at Rangitoto College in Auckland with three members of the band competing in Rockquest with the band name Resonate. Jeremy Redmore and Nick Campbell joined the group in mid-2006 after their lead singer, Scott Franz, left due to creative differences.

In 2009 the band released their debut album, The Brave Don't Run, in New Zealand and Australia where it debuted at #2 on the NZ Top 40 Album chart. The album produced five singles - The Letter, All On Our Own, Learning To Fall, Cavalry and Golden Love. The later featured on US TV series One Tree Hill.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Midnight Youth

Releases

World Comes Calling
Year: 2011
Type: Album
The Brave Don't Run
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By amandashootsbands

Parachute 2014 Highlights
29 Jan 2014 // by amandashootsbands
Words by Amanda Ratcliffe - AKA amandashootsbands Straight from the mouth of Mr. Mark de Jong himself, I learned that this was the 24th Parachute Music Festival, and it is growing larger every year it’s held at the Mystery Creek venue in Hamilton.
Read More...
Parachute 2013 Review!!!
30 Jan 2013 // by amandashootsbands
Today’s review is brought to you by the letter F, and the number 7.  The F word...
Read More...
The top ten cool things about Saturday at Parachute 2012
02 Feb 2012 // by amandashootsbands
1. I’ve been to a number of Midnight Youth shows over the past few years, so it was rather lovely to sit and enjoy a few snippets from the front-man himself, Jeremy Redmore at Noise.
Read More...
A Day At Parachute 2011
30 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Last week I covered Big Day Out starting off mentioning that I’d been to seven of the Auckland events in seven years, which seemed to go down quite well with readers.  So for Parachute this year, I’m going to do the same, but different because Parachute will always be a little different to the rest of the festivals here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2011
25 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Big Day Out 2011 was my seventh in seven years, and if you know a thing or two about numbers and their spiritual meaning, this one is particularly magical.  I can’t confirm such beliefs, as my seventh experience definitely had its share of crappy moments, but don’t cry pussycat – there were good times too.
Read More...
Steriogram - Taping The Radio | Album Review
25 Nov 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Oh dear...it seems I’m showing my age when I say this, but I remember when Steriogram first hit the scene eleven years ago now.
Read More...
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2010
14 Oct 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Very much the fan of a pretty frock, I was in heaven at the 45th New Zealand Music Awards last Thursday evening at the Vector Arena.  The red carpet was filled with so many beautiful people that it was hard to know where to look, let alone who to shoot.
Read More...
Kids Of 88 - Sugarpills | Album Review
26 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
When a band describes their music as 'a cross between a late 80s police drama intro theme and a sophisticated super hussy', it's pretty much impossible to hold onto that curiosity for long, before delving in to find out who and what these people are all about. So did curiosity kill this kitty after getting her paws on Kids of 88's debut album, Sugarpills?
Read More...
View All Articles By amandashootsbands

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem