27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DateMonthYear - 7Ghosts review from Nexus

29 Mar 2009 // A review by Trevor Faville
by JoeCitizen on Sunday 21 May 2006



It took me a while for this album to grow on me, sminly because on first listening it sounded similar to their 'Sampler' album - so much so that I had to go back to 'Sampler' to check. Its quite a lot different, if only because the production values are higher - although there are still some places in '7Ghosts' that seem quite familiar.
This is really quite poppy stuff - the name almost has an ironic ring to it because this album creeps up and moves through different genres whilst having common motifs.The Prelude track reminded me of some of Dimmer's work, dark atmospherics which segue into warlike drumming, creating a simutaneous sense of anticipation and menace. This then breaks into a full groove that often catches me unaware, despite repeated playing. Its jsut what i need when I'm writing - a good long sustained energy that creeps up out of nowhere.

The second track is a triumph of rock. The vocals kick in just where they're needed and carry me away. It's a catchy little beast with subversive lyrics. Oddly enough it reminded me of Shakespeare's Sister's " There's something about Anton" - and this is where I found it similar to the Sampler album's "Crash", but that said, its still a great track. Thats the trouble with ghosts, they keep popping up and I wonder if they're real.

These songs really deserve real names - not just Ghost1, Ghost2 etc.The third track (confusingly called Ghost2) had me humming it under my breath.Its got pervasive lyrics and a progressive structure that kept the tension without careening off course.

Thsi album kept turning through its tracks in just the right way.Its got surprises, but there's nothing that irritated me. I keep playing it and wondering where it goes as it just seems to hit all the right buttons. It creates a journey that alternatively lifts and lowers the mood of the listener - it never overplays its hand, just moves on and takes me with it.
 

About DateMonthYear

DateMonthYear began as a way of making music back 2003.The journey since then has involved five self-funded albums, five self-funded music videos and many, many gigs.

DateMonthYear are proud advocates of musical independence, ignoring established rules and norms of the music industry in New Zealand.

The end result has meant airplay on hundreds of radio stations around the world, music licensed to TV, Ads and Movies-again, worldwide-, gigs with Symphony Orchestras, live theatre and so much more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DateMonthYear

Releases

The Exodus Suite
Year: 2021
Type: EP
7 Ghosts
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Pot/Kettle/Black
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Sampler
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Trevor Faville

Christine White - Single Review: Raven
14 Oct 2022 // by Trevor Faville
Christine White is an experienced and accomplished composer, with an impressive musical background. Raven is the first part of what is being described as a ‘multifaceted release’ called The Raven Project and is available on video and audio formats.
Read More...
Dillastrate - Single Review: Taku Aroha
09 Sep 2022 // by Trevor Faville
Dillastrate is made up of drummer/vocalist Henare 'H' Kaa and Tim Driver who handles Keys/loops/vocals, adding MC Luis Mill for live work. This group comes with a background of considerable musical skill and experience and brings this all to bear with their latest single Taku Aroha.
Read More...
Goldsmith Baynes - Single/Video Review: Hei Kawe i a Au
17 Aug 2022 // by Trevor Faville
Allana Goldsmith and Mark Baynes have worked together for a decade and form the creative heart of Goldsmith Baynes. They both have extensive experience in the international and local worlds of Jazz and have brought considerable skills and knowledge to this single Hei Kawe i a Au which is from their upcoming debut album E Rere Ra.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Album Review: Toil In The Time of Monsters
09 Jun 2022 // by Trevor Faville
In something of a classic Punk tradition, the opening paragraph in the press release for this release begins with some social commentary, and a position statement- establishing Nuggiez’ attitude and intent before mentioning the band or its music, and if ever there is an appropriate introduction to this band, that would be it.Nuggiez are based in Tamaki Makaurau , and have been evolving the material for Toil In The Time of Monsters over a period of quite some time.
Read More...
Kyla Greening - Single Review: Rich Girl
31 Mar 2022 // by Trevor Faville
Kyla Greening hails from Cambridge, and while Rich Girl is her first release as such, she is already known to many in the Waikato as an experienced performer and  very capable singer who is comfortable in range of music situations. Fair to say that for many it could be said that for many, this release has been keenly anticipated, Greening combines three key elements into Rich Girl - A thorough understanding of RnB/ Soul songwriting and arranging, sensitive and intelligent production/arrangements, and a sophisticated, melodic sensibility.
Read More...
Ersha Island - Double Single Review: Good Day/Gut Feeling
09 Mar 2022 // by Trevor Faville
Ersha Island consists of Auckland based siblings Danielle Hao-Aickin (vocals and keys) and Tee Hao-Aickin (violin) both of whom bring extensive musical training and experience into this foray into a more contemporary genre. Quite a bit of press attention has already gone the way of this duo, and even a cursory read of this reveals two highly motivated women with a clear vision of what they are doing- in terms of both the musical intent and cultural perspective.
Read More...
Dylan Storey - Single/Video Review: Foreign Sands
30 Nov 2021 // by Trevor Faville
Dylan Storey is based in Auckland and is the kind of musician who steadfastly treads his own path, be it as a contributing guitarist for the likes of Reb Fountain and Fleur Jack, or working in a variety of pro bands- as well as writing and releasing his own work. Storey maintains an impressive work rate and eclectic output.
Read More...
Shivers - Single Review: Runaway
09 Jul 2021 // by Trevor Faville
This is the second release from Shivers since the group evolved in Wellington in 2018. Founders Adrian Win and Timmy Porter are at the heart of the sound, but Runaway involves a larger cast of contributors-notably drummer Rick Cranson.
Read More...
View All Articles By Trevor Faville

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem