13 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DateMonthYear - 7Ghosts review from Nexus

29 Mar 2009 // A review by Trevor Faville
by JoeCitizen on Sunday 21 May 2006



It took me a while for this album to grow on me, sminly because on first listening it sounded similar to their 'Sampler' album - so much so that I had to go back to 'Sampler' to check. Its quite a lot different, if only because the production values are higher - although there are still some places in '7Ghosts' that seem quite familiar.
This is really quite poppy stuff - the name almost has an ironic ring to it because this album creeps up and moves through different genres whilst having common motifs.The Prelude track reminded me of some of Dimmer's work, dark atmospherics which segue into warlike drumming, creating a simutaneous sense of anticipation and menace. This then breaks into a full groove that often catches me unaware, despite repeated playing. Its jsut what i need when I'm writing - a good long sustained energy that creeps up out of nowhere.

The second track is a triumph of rock. The vocals kick in just where they're needed and carry me away. It's a catchy little beast with subversive lyrics. Oddly enough it reminded me of Shakespeare's Sister's " There's something about Anton" - and this is where I found it similar to the Sampler album's "Crash", but that said, its still a great track. Thats the trouble with ghosts, they keep popping up and I wonder if they're real.

These songs really deserve real names - not just Ghost1, Ghost2 etc.The third track (confusingly called Ghost2) had me humming it under my breath.Its got pervasive lyrics and a progressive structure that kept the tension without careening off course.

Thsi album kept turning through its tracks in just the right way.Its got surprises, but there's nothing that irritated me. I keep playing it and wondering where it goes as it just seems to hit all the right buttons. It creates a journey that alternatively lifts and lowers the mood of the listener - it never overplays its hand, just moves on and takes me with it.
 

About DateMonthYear

DateMonthYear began as a way of making music back 2003.The journey since then has involved five self-funded albums, five self-funded music videos and many, many gigs.

DateMonthYear are proud advocates of musical independence, ignoring established rules and norms of the music industry in New Zealand.

The end result has meant airplay on hundreds of radio stations around the world, music licensed to TV, Ads and Movies-again, worldwide-, gigs with Symphony Orchestras, live theatre and so much more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DateMonthYear

Releases

The Exodus Suite
Year: 2021
Type: EP
7 Ghosts
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Pot/Kettle/Black
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Sampler
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Trevor Faville

Simon Hirst - Single Review: No Turning Back
13 May 2021 // by Trevor Faville
Hamilton Singer-songwriter Simon Hirst has released a new single No Turning Back. This is his first new material since the Feet of God collection from 2018.
Read More...
Marsha - Single Review: Last Night
28 Apr 2021 // by Trevor Faville
Marsha’s history dates from 2018 or so, and Last Night is the latest release for these "four dudes from Christchurch". It's an accomplished track - a considered melody and thoughtful vocal arrangements are an early and immediate take-away.
Read More...
Indie Soull - Album Review: The Book of Angels
17 Mar 2021 // by Trevor Faville
Indie Soull is the working name for much-travelled author and musician Mutch Katsonga and The Book of Angels is his latest release and forms part of an extensive catalogue of work that stretches back to 2016.The Book of Angels is an eight-track album including two versions of the final song The Lord Taketh Away that projects the voice of an experienced, mature and considered singer-songwriter.
Read More...
Emily Rice - Single Review: Over Time
10 Dec 2020 // by Trevor Faville
Emily Rice is an experienced singer/songwriter with considerable international experience and perspective. Working with We Stole The Sun, New Jungle Order and Aro among others, her prior work has garnered the stamp of approval from artists of the calibre of Kimbra-no-mean-feat.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Tonic For Your Boredom
21 Aug 2020 // by Trevor Faville
This is the second release from Christchurch combo Imperial April, that has evolved in a new direction from their origins as The Response, with Victoria Ropp taking an upfront role on vocals. As such, Tonic for Your Boredom is a further refinement - and step up from- previous release Peachy.
Read More...
Venice Qin - EP Review: Dreamboy
29 May 2020 // by Trevor Faville
Venice Qin is an Auckland based singer and Songwriter. Dreamboy is a four-song collection and is her first release.
Read More...
isunray - EP Review: Balancing Act
09 Mar 2020 // by Trevor Faville
isunray essentially consists of multi-instrumentalist Jeremy Hay, who has quite an extensive history of songwriting, arranging and producing. For this release, he is joined by vocalist Jade Eru, who makes a powerful and significant contribution.
Read More...
Al Fraser, Sam Leamy and Neil Johnstone - Album Review: Panthalassa
17 Sep 2019 // by Trevor Faville
This trio of highly experienced creators (aided by an impressive cast of guest contributors) have created a suite of sonic explorations with quite clear ‘‘abstract and impressionist” intent. The attendant press notes explain in detail the scope, intent and process of this work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Trevor Faville

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem