25 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Volunteers - Album Review - Friends Family & Fools

28 Mar 2009 // A review by amandashootsbands
This soul inspired Wellington act first came to life in mid 2005 when vocalist Elan Mills decided it was high time he put his days of self indulgence behind him. To begin a journey filled with funky rock n’ roll music that goes by the name, The Volunteers. Calling themselves a ‘motley crew’, the band consists of six members who were all carefully hand-picked by Mills himself. Come 2009, the bunch is now ready to introduce their music to the world with their debut release, Friends Family & Fools.

Pick up a copy of the album and you’ll find a beautifully put together piece of art that gives you a great understanding of the band’s style without even listening to it first. It’s an eclectic mix of funk soul and rock n’ roll all mashed into one to bring to your ears a sound that is truly unique and scarcely found in our country. The first tracks, You Had It All Along and Hold On To This One are both swingingly sexy classics that are familiar and easy to listen to, while The Hound has a slight country feel to parts of it.

This Broken Host has a beautiful intro with treats from the piano which flow throughout. It’s an eerie and sombre track but brings with it a lovely change to the others on the album. The Fool comes with a similar sound minus the piano, but is equally haunting and attractive to my secret lonesome cowboy side. All Of Me is a simple tune with the intro boasting rich bass lines. Giving off some smooth hints of jazz, this song is enough to make even the most un-co person in the room whack out some finger poppin’ and look the part.

The Volunteers originally set out to release a debut album with a distinct sound full of all of the members influences - blues, rock n’ roll, funk and soul, and they’ve certainly hit the nail on the head with this CD. Lovingly produced over hours spent at the Island Bay Studios in Wellington with producer/engineer Nic McGowan, they’ve managed to achieve all of the above and then some. They’re one’s to watch and I’m looking forward to hearing more from them in the future.

Amanda Ratcliffe
 

About The Volunteers

We are 7 musicians having a blast, and getting a foot into the world of full time music.

Come and join us at one of our big live shows, and groove to the rock and soul blues that is The Volunteers.

If your into reading ALL about us PLEASE do check our website.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Volunteers

Releases

Friends, Family & Fools
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By amandashootsbands

Parachute 2014 Highlights
29 Jan 2014 // by amandashootsbands
Words by Amanda Ratcliffe - AKA amandashootsbands Straight from the mouth of Mr. Mark de Jong himself, I learned that this was the 24th Parachute Music Festival, and it is growing larger every year it’s held at the Mystery Creek venue in Hamilton.
Read More...
Parachute 2013 Review!!!
30 Jan 2013 // by amandashootsbands
Today’s review is brought to you by the letter F, and the number 7.  The F word...
Read More...
The top ten cool things about Saturday at Parachute 2012
02 Feb 2012 // by amandashootsbands
1. I’ve been to a number of Midnight Youth shows over the past few years, so it was rather lovely to sit and enjoy a few snippets from the front-man himself, Jeremy Redmore at Noise.
Read More...
A Day At Parachute 2011
30 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Last week I covered Big Day Out starting off mentioning that I’d been to seven of the Auckland events in seven years, which seemed to go down quite well with readers.  So for Parachute this year, I’m going to do the same, but different because Parachute will always be a little different to the rest of the festivals here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2011
25 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Big Day Out 2011 was my seventh in seven years, and if you know a thing or two about numbers and their spiritual meaning, this one is particularly magical.  I can’t confirm such beliefs, as my seventh experience definitely had its share of crappy moments, but don’t cry pussycat – there were good times too.
Read More...
Steriogram - Taping The Radio | Album Review
25 Nov 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Oh dear...it seems I’m showing my age when I say this, but I remember when Steriogram first hit the scene eleven years ago now.
Read More...
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2010
14 Oct 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Very much the fan of a pretty frock, I was in heaven at the 45th New Zealand Music Awards last Thursday evening at the Vector Arena.  The red carpet was filled with so many beautiful people that it was hard to know where to look, let alone who to shoot.
Read More...
Kids Of 88 - Sugarpills | Album Review
26 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
When a band describes their music as 'a cross between a late 80s police drama intro theme and a sophisticated super hussy', it's pretty much impossible to hold onto that curiosity for long, before delving in to find out who and what these people are all about. So did curiosity kill this kitty after getting her paws on Kids of 88's debut album, Sugarpills?
Read More...
View All Articles By amandashootsbands

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem