24 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DateMonthYear - Album Review - Pot/Kettle/Black

17 Mar 2009 // A review by amandashootsbands
To be honest, I’d be pretty surprised if you told me you hadn’t heard the name DateMonthYear getting thrown around at some stage seeing as they’ve been around since 2003. But for those of you who haven’t, let me tell you a little something about the group. Describing themselves as more of an ‘anti-band’, the idea behind the act is to make music without the ties of being in a band. No restrictions, just a ‘flexible recording and performing unit’ if you will.

Having released a series of albums over the past few years, Hamilton’s DateMonthYear have come out with another to add to their list of treats, cleverly named Pot/Kettle/Black.
This album is set to take you on a journey through heavenly pop melodies that I can quite happily recommend you listen to on a lazy Sunday afternoon with a selection of your favourite chocolates.

It’s an easy listen with songs like Awake and Wrong which will have you drift off to that dreamy land where everything is light - even though the lyrics are quite sad, the music is bright enough to see you through without shedding a tear. Tracks like Hometime and Prophecy are goodies for kids who like their music a little more danceable, and have made me want to see what these guys can do live.

Then there’s Asleep which features my favourite instrument of them all – the tambourine so of course it’s an automatic winner in my books. Although you’re taken through different sounds, the entire album fits effortlessly into the ambient/pop genre without any confusion. If you’re a keen fan of angelic vocals and music to match, DateMonthYear’s latest release, Pot/Kettle/Black is one for your collection.

Amanda Ratcliffe
 

About DateMonthYear

DateMonthYear began as a way of making music back 2003.The journey since then has involved five self-funded albums, five self-funded music videos and many, many gigs.

DateMonthYear are proud advocates of musical independence, ignoring established rules and norms of the music industry in New Zealand.

The end result has meant airplay on hundreds of radio stations around the world, music licensed to TV, Ads and Movies-again, worldwide-, gigs with Symphony Orchestras, live theatre and so much more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DateMonthYear

Releases

The Exodus Suite
Year: 2021
Type: EP
7 Ghosts
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Pot/Kettle/Black
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Sampler
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By amandashootsbands

Parachute 2014 Highlights
29 Jan 2014 // by amandashootsbands
Words by Amanda Ratcliffe - AKA amandashootsbands Straight from the mouth of Mr. Mark de Jong himself, I learned that this was the 24th Parachute Music Festival, and it is growing larger every year it’s held at the Mystery Creek venue in Hamilton.
Read More...
Parachute 2013 Review!!!
30 Jan 2013 // by amandashootsbands
Today’s review is brought to you by the letter F, and the number 7.  The F word...
Read More...
The top ten cool things about Saturday at Parachute 2012
02 Feb 2012 // by amandashootsbands
1. I’ve been to a number of Midnight Youth shows over the past few years, so it was rather lovely to sit and enjoy a few snippets from the front-man himself, Jeremy Redmore at Noise.
Read More...
A Day At Parachute 2011
30 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Last week I covered Big Day Out starting off mentioning that I’d been to seven of the Auckland events in seven years, which seemed to go down quite well with readers.  So for Parachute this year, I’m going to do the same, but different because Parachute will always be a little different to the rest of the festivals here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Big Day Out 2011
25 Jan 2011 // by amandashootsbands
Big Day Out 2011 was my seventh in seven years, and if you know a thing or two about numbers and their spiritual meaning, this one is particularly magical.  I can’t confirm such beliefs, as my seventh experience definitely had its share of crappy moments, but don’t cry pussycat – there were good times too.
Read More...
Steriogram - Taping The Radio | Album Review
25 Nov 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Oh dear...it seems I’m showing my age when I say this, but I remember when Steriogram first hit the scene eleven years ago now.
Read More...
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2010
14 Oct 2010 // by amandashootsbands
Very much the fan of a pretty frock, I was in heaven at the 45th New Zealand Music Awards last Thursday evening at the Vector Arena.  The red carpet was filled with so many beautiful people that it was hard to know where to look, let alone who to shoot.
Read More...
Kids Of 88 - Sugarpills | Album Review
26 Sep 2010 // by amandashootsbands
When a band describes their music as 'a cross between a late 80s police drama intro theme and a sophisticated super hussy', it's pretty much impossible to hold onto that curiosity for long, before delving in to find out who and what these people are all about. So did curiosity kill this kitty after getting her paws on Kids of 88's debut album, Sugarpills?
Read More...
View All Articles By amandashootsbands

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PERMISSION TO DANCE
    BTS
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem