4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miscreant - Album Review: Complicated Characters - Miscreant

16 Mar 2009 // A review by BrendaF
I could hardly believe my luck when I was handed this album to review having heard the single ‘Fight For Me’ on the radio and becoming an instant fan.

This album is described as a rock album but don’t be fooled, songs like ‘Hey Mister’ and ‘Rhythm Child’ have a very blues/jazz style to them while songs ‘Still Frame’ and ‘Hard Act To Follow’ have a more ballad/slow rock bottom line.

The lyrics are well written and Chris’s strong, earthy vocals fit perfectly. You can tell this band takes their music seriously, the guitar riffs and the drum beats are executed beautifully. This is one professional sounding album, the tracks flow from one to another without merging and the overall sound is well thought out.

This is definitely one band that you need to keep your eyes and ears out for. I can’t wait for more.
 

About Miscreant

Miscreant is a 5 piece rock band that formed in 2004 based in Auckland,
New Zealand. After spending 6 months sweating it out in Studio 203 with acclaimed producer Andrew Buckton, Miscreant are now gearing up to rock the New Zealand music scene with the release of their Debut Album 'Complicated Characters due out in March 2009. Miscreant have had two singles enjoying air time on a number of radio stations, including New Zealands own The 'Rock FM'.

The 2nd radio single 'Fight For Me' is a compelling shoot-from-the-hip rock track which is now airing on TV and radio stations nationwide. The follow up single Rhythm Child will be hitting radio and TV throughout March in support of the albums release.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miscreant

Releases

Complicated Characters
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem