15 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Every Man For Himself - EP Review: Every Man For Himself – Te Pae Mahutonga The Southern Cross

Every Man For Himself - EP Review: Every Man For Himself – Te Pae Mahutonga The Southern Cross

02 Feb 2009 // A review by BrendaF
The Auckland quintet has been around since 2003 (in various forms and under different names) and this is their third EP release. This is disc 1 in a two disc series, the second set to be released mid-2009.

From the moment I placed this album into my player, I loved it. It was grunt at its best and in no time, my head was banging and the volume was full.

Aaron’s vocals are full of power and rage, the solid drum set explodes through the speakers and the riffs are spine tingling. My favourite track would have to be ‘Until the lions learn to record their own history, the tales of hunting will always glorify the hunter’ (what a great name for a song!).

This is trash metal/grind at its best and I thoroughly enjoyed this EP. I can’t wait for the next installment.

EMFH are due to play a couple of gigs starting from 19 Feb 2009, so if you are in the Auckland area, I would strongly recommend going and checking these guys out.
 

About Every Man For Himself

For over half a decade South Auckland's Every Man For Himself have been working non stop establishing themselves as an unstoppable force in the New Zealand metal and hardcore circuit.

Playing a style of music strongly influenced by many hardcore and metal acts of the new millenium, complemented by the bands very own distinctive approach to heavy music and refreshingly unconventional ideas, they have managed to created a crushing blend of metal, hardcore and grind, laced with intricate melodies and captivating groove which has earned them much respect over the years and managed to captivate the hearts and minds of both metal and hardcore fans alike.

Lyrically, Every Man For Himself are rooted deeply within their cultural identity and thus, their music is coupled with a strong and significant, heart-felt message which is delivered from an extremely under-represented collective voice and perspective, especially in modern extreme music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Every Man For Himself

Releases

Every Man For Himself
Year: 2006
Type: EP
EMFH Demo
Year: 2005
Type: EP

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem