16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sora Shima - EP Review - Sora Shima - Destroy Electronica

28 Jan 2009 // A review by CEOMong
When my editor proffered the newest CD for review, judging from the (very cool) case and liner I expected metal, or perhaps drum and bass, instead what I found was an eclectic mix of alternative rock indie electronica instrumentals. I’m not disappointed, although it did strike me as odd that there are no vocals whatsoever, and the complete divergence from the norm. I guess if you are even reading this then you probably already know their style, and probably think I’m a douche for being ignorant.

It obvious there’s been a lot of time and effort spent on this, their 3rd EP, with mostly mellow, and some not so mellow, themes. An album you could imagine being utilised as the basis of an indie films’ soundtrack, the backing tracks in a rave, or as atmos in some upmarket café. All in all an interesting EP, not 100% my handle of bourbon – not quite electronica and not quite rock and not quite … anything you could label … yet … well, interesting. You’d have to listen for yourself to find out more, check them out at:

http://sorashima.freehostia.com
http://myspace.com/sorashima

Jaa mata
CEO Mong
 

About Sora Shima

With a sensual sound once described by Under The Radar as "properly abstract, terrifyingly beautiful", Hamiltonian sonic rock architects SORA SHIMA have been quietly (or perhaps not so quietly) honing their instrumental craft since 2006. Through echo-woven melodies, celestial reverberations and earthly resonances, "dark and dreamy" Sora Shima are reknowned for their unique ability to lull audiences, blissfully unaware of the aural tidal wave about to strike at a moment's notice.

Without the confines of words, the music speaks for itself, or rather, the music IS the voice - a direct line to the imagination. Whatever colourful language you use to describe this unique four-piece, the only way to truly experience the awesomeness that is Sora Shima is to witness their stunning live set - a vivid experience you'll not soon forget.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sora Shima

Releases

You Are Surrounded
Year: 2014
Type: Album
LOVEYOU
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Destroy Electronica
Year: 2008
Type: EP
Distancing
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Spinetingler
Year: 2007
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem