3 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lydia Cole - EP Review: Lydia Cole – Love Will Find A Way

19 Jan 2009 // A review by BrendaF
I haven’t heard of Lydia Cole before listening to this EP so I wasn’t sure quite what to except. Lydia is relatively new to the music scene, however this is her second EP release.

Not many artists are able to give credit to acoustic, simple and light melodies, but Lydia’s voice and song writing compliments that style beautifully. The songs are very honest and heartfelt and you can hear the real emotion in them. There are 5 tracks on this EP and all of them are harmonic and each song flows from one to another. I’m sure the experience of Neil Finn has some influence on this.

My favourite would have to be ‘On My Hand’ which has a slight delicate upbeat tempo compared to the other songs. This is a great little EP and if you are into easy listening genre, then this would be a must have.

Lydia is due to perform at Parachute, Mystery Creek from the 23 January 2009 for 4 nights and I would recommend that you check it out if you are in the area.
 

About Lydia Cole

Lydia Cole is a songwriter from Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lydia Cole

Releases

The Lay of The Land
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Me & Moon
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Love Will Find A Way
Year: 2009
Type: EP
Twenty Years
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem