21 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Slave Cadaver - CD Review – Slave Cadaver – Slave Girls From Beyond Infinity

23 Dec 2008 // A review by CEOMong
An epic album with amusing soundbytes scattered throughout for a bit of a laugh. Very horror/death metal, growly and thrashy at times, slower tempo and more melodic in other parts.

Surprising to me was how delicate the band is. Not very speedy, the whole feel of the album is kind of sit back, put your feet up, spark up and enjoy a wasted Sunday.

Awesome artwork, the zombie last supper should be on a t-shirt.

Track 1 – Arseholes & Infamy – rocks straight in with gax and double-bass goodness. Chock full of throaty vox. Delicate yet insistent riffs.

Track 2 – 2 Minutes of Hate – slightly longer than advertised, another track packed with solid riffs and growls.

Track 3 – Cancer – a nice reality check to start to remind us all we are just ultimately plant food. More solid riffs, some cool gax effects and epic atmospheric vox.

Track 4 – Chop Shop – nice deep hook to start, tricky little riffs romping throughout. Nice balance of all instruments, vox included.

Track 5 – Deathgore – clamouring and excited to start, settles into the regular reliable riff heard throughout the album. Some sweet gax effects in there. Another epic soundbyte to finish – insanity rules.

Track 6 – The Beach Song – speedy randomly, angry mostly, insane completely, like some sort of frat party jam session at 5 in the morning after the keg’s long gone dry.

Who’s got a knife?
CEO Mong
 

About Slave Cadaver

Conceived in a concrete garage/pit of dispair in Wellington, New Zealand in early 2003 when Jared (drums) and Eli (vocals) started jamming some Carcass with Viv (guitar). Guy joined on bass shortly after and the band started rehearsing and gigging as a Carcass covers act.

In March 2004 Dave Cadaver jumped on second guitar and Guy left to join Damned Age. The band started working on originals and continued gigging throughout the year playing "An Audience with the Devil" metal fest in Auckland in May enlisting Jason from Backyard Burial to fill in on bass.

Guy returned later in the year and the band recorded a 4 track demo EP "Seething Innards". Viv left in early 2005 and after a few months of inactivity continued as a 4-piece.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Slave Cadaver

Releases

Slave Girls From Beyond Infinity
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Chop Shop Live EP
Year: 2007
Type: EP
Seething Innards
Year: 2005
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem