4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Symphony of Screams - The Symphony of Screams – 'Heed To The Voices'

16 Sep 2008 // A review by JohnS
The Symphony of Screams, What a choice name for a band and with the eye catching graphic artwork to support the name. When I first laid my eyes on to it I immediately flashed back to my teen years listing to death/trash metal, but with a unique “Blues Metal/Rock” which at first listen did not really appeal to me but the album has grown on me. Wicked World has to be my favorite song on the album.

Their Debut album Heed to the Voices at the Red Room in Whangaparaoa. The studio was built specifically for this album, and now operates as a not-for-profit studio, for other recording artists who may not necessarily be able to afford full price, quality studio time.

The boys have worked had and it shows with the awesome riffs and dark and unique vocal tones have lead to a bloody great album.
 

About The Symphony of Screams

Auckland-based group The Symphony of Screams describe their sound as ‘grungy metal’, and to quote that bible of heavy, Kerrang! magazine, sound like “NZ Napalm who hammer it home all the way.”

The power and energy that TSOS bring to the stage is amply demonstrated by the fact that they were sought out by Capital C Productions to be the main New Zealand support act at Rock to Wellington, where fans of heavy numbering over 25,000 per night were treated to their brand of uncompromising rock assault.

Their debut album Heed to the Voices was originally an NZ-only independent release, which went down so well with fans that it was re-released worldwide in late 2012 by AllGood Absolute Alternative Records, garnering positive reviews pretty much across the board. "As good as it gets" to paraphrase but one.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Symphony of Screams

Releases

Live & Unplugged
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Radio Candy
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Heed To The Voices
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By JohnS

Hurricane Kids - Live It Up EP Review
11 May 2013 // by JohnS
School holidays for my family almost always involve a decent amount of time traveling via the car and I always use this time to introduce my boys to new music to expand their every growing playlists on their MP3 players. The latest EP from the Hurricane Kids looks as if it may be another enjoyable addition.
Read More...
Evermore - Follow the Sun Album Review
25 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
It's a long journey to become a household name within Australasia, but Evermore have done exactly that and more. From topping the charts in 2004 with their debut album Dreams to their latest release Follow the Sun, Evermore have established themselves into the indie-rock record books.
Read More...
fleaBITE - Circus of Fleas Album Review
08 Oct 2012 // by JohnS
Perfect timing for school holidays arrived the new CD from FleaBITE entitled Circus of Fleas. Adult-friendly children’s music made right here in New Zealand that keeps my kids happy for hours.
Read More...
Nervous Doll Dancing - Eidolon - Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Nervous Doll Dancing is a new name to me, which came as a surprise. I consider myself to have an above average knowledge of kiwi musicians and I’m always a little taken back when I haven’t heard of someone who is this talented before.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Trippin' The Light Album Review
09 Sep 2012 // by JohnS
Blues, rock and accounting aren’t something that would normally be put together but Wellingtonian signer Julie Lamb somehow pulls this off. Her second album entitled 'Trippin’ In The Light' displays a range of talent, which is rarely found on the shelfs nowadays.
Read More...
DJ Definite - From Hell to Breakfast EP Review
14 Oct 2011 // by JohnS
Former dDub bass player Brent Stathdee has got back into making beats since the duo known as Definite & Bling took a hiatus in 2007. After 3 EP’s and an album with hard funk/Rock band Hangman, DJ Definite has turned back to making beats again.
Read More...
The Nomad - Perilous Times album review
17 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
Yes, after six years The Nomad (Daimon Schwalger) has been working hard and given us 'Perilous Times', a dupstep flavoured blend or reggae, drum and bass, electronica and Jungle to create a thing of absolute bliss. Through the creation and celebration of independent music, The Nomad, shares the story of his journeys.
Read More...
Known Associates: Penny Love
05 Jul 2011 // by JohnS
It’s hard not to pick an album and solo judge the music inside by its cover. It’s the whole basis of trying something new, Do you like the look of them, are they wearing the latest fashions or even the classic do I know that guy?
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnS

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem