21 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Fea Street Hustle - EP Review - The Fea Street Hustle

23 Aug 2008 // A review by BrendaF
I was concerned when I received this 5 track EP as my only previous experience in country music was being dragged along to the Topp Twins by my Mum when I was younger. However, I discovered I’m a closet country fan.

For the most part, this EP is bright, refreshing and uplifting with toe tapping beats stringed out with captivating vocals. The transition from one track to the other was smooth and the EP as a whole flowed beautifully. Of course, what would a country album be without the whaling guitars and heartbroken cowboy ballad? Abandoned City captured this emotion beautifully.

That being said, I did have a couple of issues with the EP. I found that each song was over 5 minutes in length and for a couple of songs, this was too long. Also the production quality of the EP suffered. I’m sure that these were only teething issues and will be resolved in future albums.

Not much is known about The Fea Street Hustle and their website doesn’t help despite being well presented and laid out. I’m sure those in Dunedin and surrounding areas will be more familiar than myself with this band.

My favourite song would undoubtedly have to be South of the River. This is the strongest on the album and the guitar chords are spectacular.

If you are looking to venture into this genre then this is a good little album to start with.

3 ½ yihee haw’s from me.
 

About The Fea Street Hustle

The Fea Street Hustle finally got their EP out! Buy it and support local music!

Hustle first evolved in September 2006 when two lonely, confused,melancholic, & socially challenged wayward preacher's sons decided to deal with the apparent futility of existence in the most base and primal manner known to post-colonial western society- the embracing and expressing of one's inner turmoil through country music. Gareth Bedford and Emerson Yeoman decided to take this much loved form, which in its various manifestations had been a soundtrack to life since their earliest years in the semi-rural small-town New Zealand we all love so well, and inject it with a shot of the prevalent indy-alternative aesthetic of Dunedin City - the great bastion of New Zealand creative culture where the Hustle reside and where many great New Zealanders have cut their creative teeth.

They soon realised there was one man, and one man only, who could give this form of country song the raw on-stage energy it required. Enter long-time friend, the irrepressible 'Animal-esqe' (ala The Muppets) drummer, Matty Hegan. Matty fitted the bill perfectly not only on account of his infectious energy (not to mention his many infectious other things) but because Matty's roots were also in small town New Zealand. Once upon a time Matty even milked cows - before he discovered the Dead Kennedys, dyed and spiked his hair, got a studded belt, and several tatoos - and subsequently got 'hustled' out of the dairy shed on the end of a rusty pitchfork, yet he too had felt the call of the big city life with its creative freedoms and intellectual stimulation.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Fea Street Hustle

Releases

The Fea Street Hustle
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By BrendaF

NRG Rising - From Darkness to Light
27 Feb 2011 // by BrendaF
This is the debut album for a hard working mother and daughter trio from Hamilton with their roots solidly grounded in reggae. Despite only being around for 18 months, they have crammed a lot in including gigs throughout the Auckland/Bay of Plenty/Gisborne/Hawkes Bay areas and headlining a number of festivals and now, an album.
Read More...
Joanne Chester - 'Where's The Time' EP Review
03 May 2010 // by BrendaF
This is a 5 track EP from Joanne Chester is solely grounded in the Blues/Jazz genre. While Joanne’s vocals lack the sultry power usually associated this genre and at times were just plain flat, the intention and emotion behind the lyrics is quite spectacular.
Read More...
Farmer Pimp - 'Sweet Hot Pepper Pop' album Review
04 Apr 2010 // by BrendaF
When I saw the name Farmer Pimp, I had images of a prostitute sitting on a hay bale in red band gumboots and I expected the music to be the same – a bit of a mish mash of genres. I wasn’t far wrong but what I found is that it worked really well.
Read More...
Album Review: Nadine Loren – Living in Wonderland
12 Jan 2010 // by BrendaF
Nadine Loren is an up and coming singer/songwriter with an unusual yet effective style. Living in Wonderland has been nominated for “Best Pop Album of the Year” by the LA Music Awards in 2009 and I can see why.
Read More...
Album Review: Down Falls An Empire - These Four Walls
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I can’t believe that this time last year, I was doing a review on These Fall Walls two single EP and now, finally, their debut album has been released. It has been a long time coming since their first single 'Walk Away' debuted in May 2007.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Wire Hustle
29 Sep 2009 // by BrendaF
I wasn’t too sure what to make of this self-titled album when I was asked to review it, I mean, how can you infuse hip hop with psychedelic and jazz but that is exactly what Electric Wire Hustle have managed to do – successfully. This is their debut album and the Wellington trio certainly challenges your musical boundaries.
Read More...
Album Review: Gimar – 'On My Own Buzz'
11 Aug 2009 // by BrendaF
What a fantastic example of one of New Zealand’s up and coming hip-hop artists. While my strengths lie in other genres, I do quite like rap/hip hop if it is well presented with lyrics that are true to one’s self.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly album review
22 Jun 2009 // by BrendaF
When I was given this album, I was informed that it was a rock album so that’s what I expected. But Mercury Crowe is so much more than just rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By BrendaF

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem