20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cage Demise - Gig Review - Cage Demise - Bar Mode, Palmerston North, 6 October 07

16 Oct 2007 // A review by CEOMong
Delayed for an hour due to a completely underwhelming crowd, Cage Demise stormed the stage and our eardrums in an explosive set filled with well-rehearsed riffs and backed up with some powerful lyrics.

This 3 piece ensemble took the stage and without any effing round launched hard out into a blistering set that rapidly gathered momentum. A solid base of chorus members got in nice and early, and rocked out completely.

Tight, solid riffs and an amazing amount of sound were pealed out, disrupted only by some minor technical issues at the start of the gig. At times vocals were a trifle eerie which completely transcended their sound to another level. Nice and heavy speed metal, I rate Cage Demise very highly and would definitely see them again.
 

About Cage Demise

Cage Demise is a 4-piece metal band hailing from Palmerston North. Formed in late 2006, Cage Demise has prepared and written over 15 original tracks and shared the stage with the likes of 8 Foot Sativa, Sinate, Wrath, Subtract, Set on End, Tainted, Human, Pariah, Gunt, Cell, Slave Cadaver and Australia's Beyond Terror Beyond Grace plus many more.

Influenced by the likes of Pantera, Lamb of God, Parkway Drive, Unearth, Killswitch Engage, Dethklok, As I lay Dying, Sinate, Wrath and 8 Foot Sativa, Cage Demise brings a mixture of Metal and Hardcore to create an original Heavy Metal sound. Backed up by a brutal stage presence and over 100 shows under their belts, they know how to entertain a crowd.

The Wick EP was released in May 2008 which included 7 original tracks. 12 Months of shows around the North Island followed by some well deserved practice time has seen a new breed of Cage Demise unleashed in 2009. With the addition of good friend Damo on bass and Ryan taking over the front man duties, Cage Demise was set to unleash a new breed of Metal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cage Demise

Releases

The Wick EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem