14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cobra Khan - Gig Review - Valve Bar, 8 Sep 07

01 Oct 2007 // A review by CEOMong
A fantastically speedy and non-stop act that had both wifey and myself on our feet rocking out. Before the band cranked up, I wondered what value the keyboard would add. The next 30 minutes gave me the answer – Sarah on keyboard lent the performance strength and continuity through lulls, coaxing more melody than I thought would be possible from the complex anthems rocked out by the band. Thoroughly enjoyable, the band seemed to fully enjoy themselves almost as much as we did. The band have a very strong bond which was very self-evident through their on-stage communication and obviously well-rehearsed set. The only negative I found was the locals were a bit timid at first, despite repeated requests from Milon they remained as centurions for the first few songs before getting into the rhythm. Cobra Khan finished with a rendition of Black Sabbath’s “Sabbra Cadabra” – one of the finest Sabbath covers I have ever heard. Wifey loved them, especially the catchy sing-along choruses, sweet melodies, and tight riffs. Cobra Khan are excellent and not to be missed if you have the chance to see them.
 

About Cobra Khan

Cobra Khan’s emergence from the wreckage of New Zealand hard hitters Sommerset, Day One and Balance has been as well documented as the amount of thrashing the tracks from their mini album Sleepless Lions received since its release in 2006. They’ve played shows big and small over the last few years, building on the live reputation of their previous endeavours.

Disinterested in retreading old ground and playing to the conventions of whichever guitar-oriented crowd you’re most likely to lump them into, on their first full-length album Cobra Khan have sidestepped genre restrictions and audience expectations alike to make Helgorithms - an album that brings all manner of influences to bear. After key writer Milon Williams immersed himself in his favourite records before writing Helgorithms. The band has surprised even themselves with the finished product, a sentiment sure to be shared by those hearing it upon release.

Various reference points will present themselves throughout the album, some obvious, and others less so, with Cobra Khan shifting gears with ease on a record that remains cohesive throughout and exudes a quiet confidence and depth that entices on subsequent listens.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cobra Khan

Releases

Cobra Khan
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Adversities
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Helgorithms
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Sleepless Lions
Year: 2006
Type: Album

Other Reviews By CEOMong

fleaBITE - Album Review: The Jungle is Jumping
21 Jan 2015 // by CEOMong
This is one kid’s CD that is unlike any other I’ve heard – The Wiggles they aren’t, unique they are, that’s for sure! My subject matter experts for this album are my wee girls Liz, 7, and Jen, 4½ - after repeated listens I asked them for their opinions on each track … with mixed results … and accompanying their comments are my thoughts.
Read More...
Shihad - FVEY Album Review
20 Aug 2014 // by CEOMong
I don’t know if it’s all in my head or not, but Jaz Coleman’s influence lends a certain classic element and a brooding depth to this album that breaks away from what has become, in recent times, some would say too radio-friendly jams. There’s a satisfying depth to the album the louder it gets – when isn’t that true for Shihad though, I suppose?
Read More...
Crash-Scan - Repeat Until False Album Review
21 May 2014 // by CEOMong
Mint physical release, a damned fine example of the post-CD era! I’ll admit up-front that even after several listens I couldn’t quite gel with this album ...
Read More...
Tankapalooza Festival, Palmerston North - 28/09/13
29 Sep 2013 // by CEOMong
12 hours, 27 bands, 3 stages, Willow Park tavern. From the start I was intrigued – “how they gonna make that work?
Read More...
Head Like A Hole Monsta-X Tour @ The Royal, Palmerston North 17/08/13
18 Aug 2013 // by CEOMong
As first experiences go, this was pretty epic. I’d never seen HLAH before live, and honestly had no idea what to expect.
Read More...
Bloodsport – Blackest Darkness Album Review
14 Aug 2012 // by CEOMong
Short (sub 2 minute for the most part) grunty songs, strong consistent themes and imagery, all in all a very solid offering. At times predictable but also, therefore, reliable.
Read More...
Crimson Rain - Catastrophe Single Review
21 Jun 2012 // by CEOMong
Delicate intro, rolls into a picky soft hook. Nice vox harmonies throughout.
Read More...
Sinate - To The Death Album Review
14 Mar 2012 // by CEOMong
Damn I’m impressed, this is one cool album – especially as loud as I have it right now. I consider myself lucky to have the privilege to hear something like this, and it’s from Kiwis!
Read More...
View All Articles By CEOMong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem