29 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Dylan Storey Band - The Dylan Storey Band @ Happy in Wellington 18/11/2006

19 Nov 2006 // A review by johnsoncraigsbc
I had never been to Happy in Wellington before last night, but I’m comprehensively glad I went for a number of reasons. Being at the top of Tory Street was an added bonus because it was well away from the city centre so I could bypass the drunken fools in town on my way home. The guy on the door was really friendly, and made me feel very welcome in my absence of friends, which ensured I could sit back, relax and enjoy the show.

Opening the evening was The Crypt Kicker 3 and SPA, who both put on very enjoyable shows and complimented the performance to come with energy and musicianship. Before long The Dylan Storey Band took to the stage in a relaxed and personal atmosphere, which was created by the abundance of obvious supporters and friends of the band.

I had never listened to The Dylan Storey Band before, but I was sure they were going to put on a great show. On seeing Billy Squire (who I had also reviewed a Salon Kingsadore gig for a few weeks earlier) I knew that my expectations were going to be met, and that this band were going to have a high level of quality musicianship. His presence was definitely felt with a variety of skilled keyboard scales and solos, which accompanied the rest of the band perfectly in their also evident high level of musicianship.

Throughout the evening all members of the band proved again and again to me their musical ability was of a very high standard. Switching between guitars, and using an array of soloing techniques, vocalist/lead guitarist Dylan Storey proved himself to be quite the musician. In fact, the whole band played really well together and seemed to have a good sense of each others styles.

The highlight of the evening for me would definitely have to be the final song-‘Titan’. Finishing on this song ensured that they could show off each member’s skills individually one last time in an extended instrumental segment. After some highly skilled playing they brought it back into the chorus to finish it off, which was a clever way to end because it made sure that that song was going to be stuck in my head as I left. Now all I want to do is head down to Real groovy and pick up a copy of their new album ‘Bones’.

Apart from a strategically placed pillar the entire evening was a highly enjoyable experience and seemingly so too thought the audience. I would not miss another chance to see The Dylan Storey Band in the future. A definite must see live performance.

Craig Johnson
 

About The Dylan Storey Band

The Dylan Storey Band is a 4-piece indie rock band with 70's blues undertones. Music geeks and instrumentalists playing energetic live shows and currently working on their second album.

They are influenced by Arcade Fire, The Allman Brothers, Wilco, Black Sabbath, Bob Dylan and Iron & Wine.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Dylan Storey Band

Releases

Bones
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Up In The Rough
Year: 2005
Type: Album

Other Reviews By johnsoncraigsbc

Spartacus R - When The Fever Takes Hold - Debut Release
15 Feb 2009 // by johnsoncraigsbc
The locally anticipated debut release from Wellingtons own Spartacus R is finally here. After becoming regionally acclaimed over the past six years their debut full-length album “When The Fever Takes Hold” is looking to rouse devotees and new listeners alike.
Read More...
Samuel Flynn Scott - Straight Answer Machine
28 May 2008 // by johnsoncraigsbc
Stepping away from electronic Americana and heading towards tropical folk, ‘Straight Answer Machine’ is Samuel Flynn Scotts’ second solo performance that supports his song writing potential. ‘Straight Answer Machine’ leads us on a mystical journey through his ideological landscapes and on through good hard times.
Read More...
An Emerald City - Debut, Self Titled E.P.
15 Apr 2008 // by johnsoncraigsbc
An Emerald City showcases mastery musicianship with a seamless blend of traditional instruments, spawning an easy listening, instrumental collaboration of styles in this self titled, debut extended play. Commencing the four track E.
Read More...
Recloose- Perfect Timing
14 Apr 2008 // by johnsoncraigsbc
Recloose has been busy and after such previous success, the now internationally exalted producer and DJ has brought a new touch to living room and club dance with ‘Perfect Timing’, taking a few pages out of the eighties in the process. Starting the album with Rachel Frasier and the mellow sophistication of ‘Catch A Leaf’ is the perfect way to precede the dismal post eighties revival that is ‘Robop’.
Read More...
Crash-Test For Favourite Things - We all want to be just like you.
31 Mar 2008 // by johnsoncraigsbc
We all want to be just like you- Crash Test For Favourite Things The general aesthetic of Crash Test for Favourite Things has matured since their debut, self titled album, and the cover art captures some of the imagery that is apparent in the music wonderfully. It speaks innocence and injustice.
Read More...
Lawrence Arabia: Live Gig @ Happy 08 Feb 2008
13 Feb 2008 // by johnsoncraigsbc
Thursday night at Happy was packed, and for good reason. For ‘it’ man Liam Finn was due to support Lawrence Arabia, who threw two nights of fun filled music with all his friends.
Read More...
The Phoenix Foundation - Happy Ending
20 Dec 2007 // by johnsoncraigsbc
After such success from ‘Pegasus’ it was exciting to hear what direction The Phoenix Foundation had taken with their new album- 'Happy Ending'. I like the album and its casual holiday appeal, with up beat happy tunes like ‘Bright Grey’ and ‘Bleaching Sun’, but opening singles aside; the album showcases all of the song writing talent that is The Phoenix Foundation.
Read More...
The Phoenix Foundation - Wellington Opera House 17/11/2007
19 Nov 2007 // by johnsoncraigsbc
On Saturday night The Phoenix Foundation played at the Opera House in Wellington as part of their Happy Ending tour. Because of the recent success from their newly released album ‘Happy Ending’ I was excepting another great show from the Wellington lads who seldom disappoint.
Read More...
View All Articles By johnsoncraigsbc

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • LATE NIGHT TALKING
    Harry Styles
  • MATILDA
    Harry Styles
  • MUSIC FOR A SUSHI RESTAURANT
    Harry Styles
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem