24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stylus - Stylus - Gain Control

21 Aug 2006 // A review by Carl Hayman
On June 10th Stylus released their 2nd album Gain Control through Wildside Records. With new guitarist Aja Timu taking the reigns from previous guitarist Kenneth Holt, Stylus have a brighter new sound, which is a lot more upbeat and rock orientated from their first album Painkillers, but still retains hints of the hip hop style that made Painkillers very unique.

Gain Control features a lot of potential singles which are so incredibly catchy that they dont leave your head for days. In particular check out Eye Can See You. The first single I Was Alone Until Tonight was released a few months ago and has featured on many TV stations, and radio stations alike, with major play on Juice and C4.

Gain Control is a huge step up from Stylus - bringing a new sound to the ears of Kiwi listeners, very much defined in a sound only Stylus can name as their own. Very solid backbeats, amazingly strong bass grooves, riffy guitars, and powerful catchy vocals make this one of my favourite releases of 2006. I hugely recommend Gain Control to anyone who listens to music of any genre, as it covers just about any style that you can name.

Carl


 

About Stylus

Stylus' last album Gain Control was released June 10, 2006 on Wildside Records. With 17 tracks of catchy melodies, low-riding grooves and crunching guitars; this album is why your stereo comes with a repeat function!

LAYING THE TRACKS

Gain Control was recorded in Auckland over 2005 and early 2006 at The Lab Studios and York St Studio, Auckland. It was mastered at Sydney’s 301 Studio in May 2006 with legendary mastering engineer Don Bartley. Gain Control was produced, engineered and mixed by award winning band members Paul Matthews (bass) and Dave Rhodes (drums) who have worked with many New Zealand artists including Blindspott, OpShop, Foamy Ed, Redline, Crumb and Tadpole.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stylus

Releases

Gain Control
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Painkillers
Year: 2003
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem