15 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stylus - Stylus @ The Break, Palmerston North - Thu 20 July 06

30 Jul 2006 // A review by Shade
It was a cold and wet night - typical of any other winter night in Palmerston North - but tonight was anything but typical. Stylus was about to take to the stage in true rock fashion to celebrate the release of their latest album Gain Control, and they were going to set this night apart from every other winter's night.

You cannot truly experience a band's sound until you have heard them live, and Stylus is no exception to this. Stylus is the one NZ band that you have to see perform live. Listening to their CDs will not show you what they are fully capable of - their live performance proves they can rock it just as hard as some of the larger international acts out there. Stylus well and truly fit into the rock genre while still remaining uniquely New Zealand, and there is no doubt in my mind that they are going to go far with their music.

With astounding vocals that know exactly how to grab your attention, bass that makes the whole building vibrate and hard-hitting, energetic beats that leave you wanting more, it was evident straight away why Stylus have developed such a huge following. Not only could you tell how much effort had gone into their set, but each member of Stylus worked well with the next and their performance was both unpredictable and balanced.

After seeing Stylus perform live I'm sure their new album Gain Control will be on everyone's winter shopping lists. There were so many awesome songs on the night it's too difficult to choose a favourite, but I Was Alone Until Tonight and Eye Can See You would definitely have to be at the top of my favourites list.
 

About Stylus

Stylus' last album Gain Control was released June 10, 2006 on Wildside Records. With 17 tracks of catchy melodies, low-riding grooves and crunching guitars; this album is why your stereo comes with a repeat function!

LAYING THE TRACKS

Gain Control was recorded in Auckland over 2005 and early 2006 at The Lab Studios and York St Studio, Auckland. It was mastered at Sydney’s 301 Studio in May 2006 with legendary mastering engineer Don Bartley. Gain Control was produced, engineered and mixed by award winning band members Paul Matthews (bass) and Dave Rhodes (drums) who have worked with many New Zealand artists including Blindspott, OpShop, Foamy Ed, Redline, Crumb and Tadpole.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stylus

Releases

Gain Control
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Painkillers
Year: 2003
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem