5 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Brutally Frank - Review: Revolver, Brutally Frank, Jackpoint @ The Dogs Bollix, Friday 23rd June 2006

Brutally Frank - Review: Revolver, Brutally Frank, Jackpoint @ The Dogs Bollix, Friday 23rd June 2006

28 Jun 2006 // A review by Carl Hayman
I sauntered/staggered in to The Dogs Bollix to watch this show, and wasn’t disappointed. Not quite a packed house but a bloody decent showing for a Friday night when both The WBC and The Bleeders where playing in the same neighbourhood!

Jackpoint, not much of a stage show but what a sound, epic five minute anthems crossed with hard hitting 3 minute dittys. Excellent rhythm section, especially the drummer, who really made the show for me. They reminded of early Idlewild actually, and at times like Radiohead on steroids. A good current sound, although there where sketchier moments from time to time with vocals and tightness.

Brutally Frank were superb - one of the most explosive live acts I have ever seen in NZ. These guys “bring it” every time they play and this show was no exception. With their roots in hard rock, Brutally Frank show influences from Pearl Jam to Tool to Rage Against The Machine with hints of some of those bands more funkier counterparts. Quite a diverse sound. Lots of shades of light and dark in their music, and all delivered with a high energy stage show. I recommend catching Brutally Frank at their next gig with Redline on July 7th at Hysteria because as far as NZ Rock goes, you wont find better than Brutally Frank.

Revolver were very good. With a sound reminiscient of the Black Crowes, The Have, and dare I say it a rockier Lenny Kravitz, these guys are making the most of the current rock and roll phase, both in sound and appearance. They engage the crowd and had people on the floor from the first song, having the dancier groove of the three bands. Revolver have just finished recording their debut album and it shows, they are extremely tight and are one of the few bands I have seen who jam out the end of their songs , they have a great dynamic in that sense. If would have been nice to have seen some more variation in their set, however, a band like this could pull off some great ballads. All in all Revolver are an above average band, put them on your must see list.
 

About Brutally Frank

Brutally Frank are an Auckland based rock band, who have been extremely prolific on the live scene over the last two years. With an eclectic style that blends traditional rock flavours with a modern alternative attitude the band offers a tight, energetic and passionate stage show. Jeremy delivers the message with intensity and showmanship, backed by a wall of distorted guitar melodies and Azza beating the crap out of his bass!

The bands name reflects the attitude of the songwriting, with content that is generally based on true life experience – and definitely pulling no punches!

The group have left no stone unturned on the Auckland circuit, having played at just about every available venue, with bands such as Head Like a Hole, Tadpole, Autozamm, The Tea Party (Canada), Fur Patrol and Revolver.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brutally Frank

Releases

The Finer Details
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem