17 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ruptus Jack - Ruptus Jack @ Mango Music

07 Apr 2006 // A review by Shade
When I first heard that Ruptus Jack was having another tour it was a priority of mine to go along and see them. They played at our 5th birthday gig in Auckland last year and ever since then I haven't been able to get enough of their powerful, catchy and seriously awesome music. So, naturally when they decided to include Palmerston North in their tour schedule, I had to be there.

The gig was originally booked for Guv'nors, however after the management at Guv'nors decided to stop having live gigs there, Ruptus Jack had no choice but to find another venue. That venue ended up being Mango Music, and despite being a record store, that didn't stop Ruptus Jack from rocking up a storm. Their music is strong, varied and truly authentic. You can tell that these guys have put a lot of work into perfecting their sound and the result is amazing.

Ruptus Jack have recently released a seven track mini-album Roses And French Lessons and it is definitely a first rate album. Not only have they released this amazing album, but they have also managed to jump over to Australia and complete the first leg of their tour with Australian band Tenpenny Joke (who have now come over to NZ to complete the second half of the tour). Already Ruptus Jack is doing very well for themselves and they have achieved so much in the time that they have been together.

All this should prove to you that this is a live act not to be missed - but don't take my word for it - next time Ruptus Jack are playing near you make sure you head along. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
 

About Ruptus Jack

Ruptus Jack are an Auckland-based five-piece who have been described as an eclectic blend of metal, punk and drum 'n' bass. Extensive touring around New Zealand for the past 5 years has seen them rack up 2 nationwide tours and the release their debut EP titled 'Roses and French Lessons'.

Most recently in March 2006 Ruptus Jack jumped over the ditch to Australia to tour with Melbourne band Tenpenny Joke around New South Wales and Victoria.

Ruptus Jack's Debut Full Length Album will be out May 10th and they are touring NZ in May to promote it.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ruptus Jack

Releases

Ruptus Jack
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Roses and French Lessons
Year: 2005
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem