6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The D4 - The D4: Out Of My Head

20 Dec 2005 // A review by Carl Hayman
There is only really one word that describes the new album recently released by NZ’s own “The D4” – WICKED.

Completely Phat is another way I choose to describe it. I really thought I wasn’t going to like this album until I listened through it 3 or 4 times. The first time you sort of tend to think “meh, its ok” the second time it gets a little better, and the third time, your left going “this album is mint”. I got the pleasure of listening to this album a few days before the official release date with some rules and guidelines laid down by The D4 about starting a band. I have to say – these guys have a great sense of humour that accompanies their music. The music vid for there first single “What I Want” I understand was shot in one continuous sequence, not edited bit by bit like most other video’s which totally amazes me.

Totally worth buying – one of the best NZ albums since Blindspott’s self titled album.
 

About The D4

The D4 was assembled in the North Shore suburbs of Auckland in 1998. The band then started playing at the legendary Frisbee Leisure Lounge parties. They have also played at the Big Day Out and at the SXSW Music Festival in Austin, TX.

Facts about The D4:

- Formed 1998, original lineup included Rich Mixture (drums) & English Jake (bass)

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The D4

Releases

Out Of My Head
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Out Of My Head (Limited Edition)
Year: 2005
Type: Album
6Twenty Limited Edition Vinyl
Year: 2002
Type: Album
6Twenty
Year: 2001
Type: Album
The D4 EP
Year: 2000
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground Volume 4
28 Jun 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Well, here I find myself in the weird situation of reviewing a series of reviews. What a novel idea!
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am
17 Mar 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem