22 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Undercut - Single Review: Blue Nurse

10 Jul 2018 // A review by butch181

Undercutís latest release Blue Nurse is a grungy little number, that has an early 2000ís vibe; encapsulating the energy of albums of the era, such as Hoobastankís 2004 The Reason, Taking Back Sundayís 2006 Louder Now, while maintaining that kiwi sound (that track brings back fond memories of when Goodshirtís Green was released).

A simple track, that maintains a good pace during the verses and is reminiscent of Sommersetís Streets Donít Close, with hints of the punchy power chords of Villainyís Ammunition throughout the outro. While the vocal style and effects give the track a ďBritish rockĒ feel, it remains without a doubt, a kiwi rock song with a brilliant natural rhythm that just makes you want to jump up and down.

Those opening chords are the real hook, as it reminds me so much of the starting riff from It's Not a Fashion Statement, It's a Fucking Deathwish, off My Chemical Romanceís Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge album, a staple of my music collection as a teenager. Not just the similarity in chords, but the tight, clean nature in which it is played. It is clear that Undercut have many years of experience under their belt and have a masterful control of song composition and layering, ebbing and flowing naturally.

With so much variety in guitar effects, the song survives through many plays as there are so many little changes between riffs and layers that are revealed with each listen. With so many kiwi rock acts in New Zealand preferring to aim toward the heavier end of the spectrum, itís refreshing to see Undercut pushing the lighter more indie range.


Review written by Alex Moulton

About Undercut

Undercut is newly formed from experienced Auckland music scene musicians, Mike Crowhen, John Hancock and Dave Crowhen who have between them performed with 12 bands. Reforming after a twenty year hiatus, this experience shines through in their live performances and on their recently released E.P.

Undercut builds on their 90's collaboration - an industrial band called Seat Bee Sate, with a new sound harking back to their grunge, indie, rock and metal roots. Undercut's style as a band is raw, punchy and lyrical, tackling real-life dilemmas.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Undercut

Releases

Blue Nurse
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Take The Wheel
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Single Review: Bartells - Our Love May Go Away
18 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Our Love May Go Away has that straightforward, uncomplicated appeal of a John Mayer or James Blunt track, with that vocal twang of a country folk song. A simple track, with the verse and chorus composed of four repeated chords, and a short clean guitar riff layered over the top.
Read More...
Gig Review: Boycrush @ Whammy Bar Backroom, Auckland 07/07/2018
18 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Every time I go to the Backroom at St Kevin's Arcade I feel like Iím wandering around the stairs of Hogwarts; the layout seems to change each time, or a different entrance is used, sometimes there is a bar, sometimes there isnít. In this case, the entire stage area had been transformed into something Iíve never seen from the Backroom of Whammy before.
Read More...
Callum Gentleman - Single/Video Review: Cigarettes
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Uncomplicated, Cigarettes is the first release from Callum Gentleman since his move to the US. Having stripped the instrumental side down to the bare rudimentary elements.
Read More...
Pacific Heights - Single Review: The Greystone
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Starting with a piano riff that repeats for the first 30 seconds of the song, it has a high note that acts as the metronome and keeps the rhythm flowing until the shift. That high note is a sign of quality in its sound; the way in which it recedes and but still builds as the note is continually struck, gives The Greystone authenticity.
Read More...
Fanfickk - Single Review: Cotton Candy
10 Jul 2018 // by butch181
What would one expect from a song called Cotton Candy? Cotton candy brings that hit of nostalgia and pleasant memories of theme parks, carnivals, and other exciting activities.
Read More...
Like A Storm - Album Review: Catacombs
05 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Catacombs is an album that has been a long time in the making. Delayed by extra tours and re-recording, Like A Storm fans have been waiting in anticipation since the 2015 release, Awaken The Fire.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Miltones w/ Reb Fountain @ Pt Chevalier Memorial RSA, Auckland 22/06/2018
28 Jun 2018 // by butch181
The Pt Chevalier Memorial RSA isnít a venue that I have been in before, and after entering the venue, the merch stand had me convinced I was at the right place, but the lack of a stage or any instruments had me reasonably confused. Luckily, noticing some music playing behind a large curtain I discovered the larger half of the venue.
Read More...
Phat Krunk - EP Review: Whatever You Say
25 Jun 2018 // by butch181
Phat Krunk sounds like the name of an artist that you would expect something more in line with the electronic genres. Instead, Phat Krunk are an alt-rock four-piece hailing from Wellington.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem