21 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah

15 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids. You know the kind, catchy upbeat tunes that have no problem going around and around in your head and you never truly get it out. I did my time with Barney, The Gummi Bear Song and The Wiggles and I don’t believe it is by accident these little ditties get lodged in our brains. Oh no, it is a very clever way to make sure we never forget certain songs. Marketing at its finest. Captain Festus McBoyle and crew have done just that. Created a song called Moolah that kids will love, and parents will curse, because it is so infectious that you will find yourself humming it on the way to work, in the shower, or in the middle of a meeting.

 

I was a bit confused at the start of the song, as it sounded like it was being played on an old gramophone… I cranked my computer up, so I could hear. Do not make the mistake of doing that, it will hurt your ears when it kicks in with lively banjo playing and those indelible lyrics “Moolah…Moolah I measure my money with a ruler”.

These guys are great performers, Captain Festus McBoyle (Rich Manic) and his Travellin’ Variety Show is touted as one of New Zealand’s top family entertainment acts with their unique style of Vaudeville musical comedy. Comparisons to Spike Milligan and Monty Python are common. “Family entertainment at its best…. Musical comedy at its finest…The ultimate rotten entertainers!”. Don’t be fooled by “The Family Music” tag, this is in fact a hard market to break into in New Zealand, these guys tour, perform relentlessly, have been nominated for several awards and produced three albums. This is not just kid’s music; it is a business which can be launched across multiple platforms.

Everything from the website to the video is stunning. Props, costumes, photography, videography and make up. The story behind the song is humorous and will appeal immensely to our wee darlings, how can it not when it involves a pirate, treasure and cow poo. Over the top Vaudeville is colourful, bright and so darn happy. What a wonderful way to entertain children.

Appealing, to young and old alike. Visually stimulating, catchy, fun and cheerful. It put a smile on my face and a loop of lyrics in my head which I am still singing to myself as I write this. Darn you Captain Festus McBoyle and your motley crew, I can see now why you got the support from NZ on Air. This is unforgettable.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

Other Reviews By Corinner

LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem