20 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018

12 Jun 2018 // A review by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc. I can remember getting my first Harrington Jacket and having Specials in bright red felt letters ironed onto the back. At the time I had never seen or heard them but everyone in Coventry had a Harrington with either their own name on the back (why would you do that?) or a band from the Two Tone Label.

In later years I ran a rehearsal studio in the city and got to know some of the musicians who were part of this scene. Sir Horace Gentleman (or H to his friends) still plays around the city and with the current line up of The Specials and used to rehearse with us. Roddy Radiation (Byers) who can now be found playing in The Ska Billy Rebels. It's part of my musical heritage so I just had to be there for this evening of New Zealand based Ska.

I arrived early as the event was sold out and parked myself in a corner of the room with a decent view not too far from the bar. There was a real buzz as a mixed crowd of stoners, dub heads, punks, skins and rude boys and girls settled in for a celebration of a day off here in NZ that my friends back in Blighty don't even get. Ska save the Queen indeed!

The room was full as openers Roofdog took to the stage. After a few technical issues, the band kicked in with a brand of high energy punk-infused Ska. Think Rancid meets The Drop Kick Murphys while necking whiskey and smoking weed. A mixture of speed and chill that was totally intoxicating. They are bringing something new to the genre and were the highlight of the night for me. Vocalist Jake has a great voice and laid-back punk style that is backed up by some great songs and musicianship from the rest of the band.

As they finish and the in-between DJ's spin some mellow vibes in advance of The Mighty Herbsmen taking to the stage I attempt to make my way to the bar but give up. This place is seriously rammed.

Obviously, with a name like theirs, The Mighty Herbsmen were going to bring a slightly mellower Ska reggae vibe that kept the party rolling. They were tighter around the edges than the punkier Roofdog but also mixed things up a bit continuing a theme of taking Ska and Reggae then adding their own twist of rum and coke to it. They smoothed out the lines, got people dancing and almost had a stoned showband vibe about them. Great musicians and a great vibe that was the perfect build to headliners Acetones.

I have seen these guys before and they are faultless. At this stage of the night the alcohol has kicked in and it's all systems go. How they fit the whole band onto this little stage and still manage to play is beyond me, so I close my eyes and just start to dance. After all that is what I remember about this music as a kid in Coventry growing up with Two Tone and Ska music. It makes you want to dance, transports you to another place. Acetones are the icing on the Queen's Birthday Cake dropping a bit of reality and escapism into the mix and are the perfect end to a night I will never forget.

See you next year (unless she pops her paid by the taxpayer's clogs)

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
EP Review: By Soda Boyz
05 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • VIBES
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem