22 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child

09 Jun 2018 // A review by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child. Largely an acoustic track it still has the drive and energy of their previous releases and could be a huge hit especially if they get to play more festivals like Splore which is featured in the video accompanying this release.

The single is instantly catchy and made only more memorable when you watch the performance. It will stick in your head and if radio picks this up NZ could have another major international bound act to add to an ever-increasing roster of talent. Honestly, there is nothing I can say to pick fault with this perfectly crafted pop song or the slick video that you need to watch to get a glimpse of the full potential Vallkyrie have.

Omer Gilroy's excellent vocals are showcased and backed up by some top-notch songwriting and performance. They really do have something for anyone no matter what your musical preference and it is clear with this release they are shooting for the stars and the charts.

Help them and buy yourself a copy today. Make sure you check out their other material and videos as well. You will be pleasantly amazed.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Vallkyrie

Vallkyrie is a Rock/Hip Hop band from South Auckland and have been acclaimed for their mix of moody theatrical sounds combined with powerful anthems. If Imagine Dragons, Rihanna and The Prodigy had a soul child, it would be Vallkyrie.

The band consists of Omer Gilroy (Nga Puhi, Ngai tahu), Rebel Reid (Nga Puhi) and Brandon Haru (Nga Puhi, Tainui).

Vallkyrie hit the stage with a theatrical and explosive live set, which has already won them 3rd place (amongst 149 entries) for 'Battle of the Bands'. Vallkyrie have opened for Safia (Australia) and played at festivals such as Big Gay Out and George in the Park. Norse mythology and gothic rock inspire their visual design and ideology. Vallkyrie have embodied their inspiration, to create an immersive world. They are also proud Maori artists, hailing from south Auckland, drawing strength from their cultural heritage.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vallkyrie

Releases

Vallkyrie
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Channel1

These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
EP Review: By Soda Boyz
05 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud.
Read More...
Dead Kid Harvester - Album Review: The First Sign Of Madness
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I knew this wasn't going to be an easy listen. With a moniker like Dead Kid Harvester and song titles like Scab Made Out Of Faeces, Paul Harvey isn't aiming for middle of the road chart-bothering, but I love music of all extremes and we all need to be challenged.
Read More...
Soda Boyz - Single Review: Home Again
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
This new single from Soda Boyz simmers and shimmers. Totally instrumental, it's a great example of how music doesn't always need words to get the message across.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem