20 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky

01 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth. 


The band’s latest single release Sneaky was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland and is an incredibly catchy number with a huge sound and epic vocals. That lady sure knows how to belt out a tune.

From the catchy lyrics to the massive instrumentals, this is an absolute winner in my book. And it got even better when I saw the video which was filmed by Bradley Garner Creative. It had a sense of humour which really appealed to me and put a smile on my face this frosty Friday morning. Make sure you watch the Sneaky video it will have you in stitches. I love these guys.


There is real depth to the guitar playing that caused goose bumps on this track. Aaron and Andy complement each other well and Corey on drums just smashed it. They deliver a sound which reverberates in your head.

There is a slight 80’s rock vibe going on with Sneaky, but they still bring that hard hitting and heavy sound they are known for. Faultless vocals and powerful lyrics “Silence is killer, sweet sadistic thriller”. This is a radio worthy track if ever I heard one. Very tight.

The group of talented Wellingtonians are making themselves heard in the NZ rock scene. People are starting to sit up and take notice. And if they aren’t, they should be.   

Curlys Jewels are a force to reckon with. I reckon.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original hard rock band from Wellington which formed in 2011.

Off the back of a huge 2017 including the release of their EP The Skin We Shed, which peaked at #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album chart, a successful North Island tour, support invitations from Kiwi rock giants Head Like A Hole and Devilskin and a performance at the NZ Tattoo and Art Festival 2017, Curlys Jewels are charging ahead into 2018.

They have just recorded a brand new single at Roundhead Studios in Auckland which will be released shortly. Watch this space!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem