16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky

01 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth. 


The band’s latest single release Sneaky was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland and is an incredibly catchy number with a huge sound and epic vocals. That lady sure knows how to belt out a tune.

From the catchy lyrics to the massive instrumentals, this is an absolute winner in my book. And it got even better when I saw the video which was filmed by Bradley Garner Creative. It had a sense of humour which really appealed to me and put a smile on my face this frosty Friday morning. Make sure you watch the Sneaky video it will have you in stitches. I love these guys.


There is real depth to the guitar playing that caused goose bumps on this track. Aaron and Andy complement each other well and Corey on drums just smashed it. They deliver a sound which reverberates in your head.

There is a slight 80’s rock vibe going on with Sneaky, but they still bring that hard hitting and heavy sound they are known for. Faultless vocals and powerful lyrics “Silence is killer, sweet sadistic thriller”. This is a radio worthy track if ever I heard one. Very tight.

The group of talented Wellingtonians are making themselves heard in the NZ rock scene. People are starting to sit up and take notice. And if they aren’t, they should be.   

Curlys Jewels are a force to reckon with. I reckon.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Curlys Jewels

Curlys Jewels are an original hard rock band from Wellington which formed in 2011.

Off the back of a huge 2017 including the release of their EP The Skin We Shed, which peaked at #11 on the Official NZ Top 40 NZ Album chart, a successful North Island tour, support invitations from Kiwi rock giants Head Like A Hole and Devilskin and a performance at the NZ Tattoo and Art Festival 2017, Curlys Jewels are charging ahead into 2018.

They have just recorded a brand new single at Roundhead Studios in Auckland which will be released shortly. Watch this space!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinner
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem