20 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo

22 May 2018 // A review by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty. Terry (T-Rex) Johnston has one of those lived in voices, all smoke and alcohol with just the right amount of grit. It's a 3 min bass driven blast with the kind of chorus that made the Bleeders so popular. Relentless speed driven Punk 'n' Roll, it doesn't let up and is over far too soon.

B side Halo is a change in direction with its pop-punk leanings this song is catchier than an STD in their hometown of Hamilton and twice as hard to get out of your system. This is not a band that you need to listen to over and over again before you are hooked. The hit is instant and sustainable. The attitude is still there and adds a fire to the belly of this anti-love song, which is just how it should be.

Not only are The Recently Deceived great musicians they consistently write great songs with shout-along choruses and enough variation to keep any listener hooked. They are burning bright and dark on this new release with a collision of attitude, melody and musicianship. Do yourself a favour and check them out.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard

About The Recently Deceived

Hailing from Hamilton, the city everyone loves to hate, comes The Recently Deceived... a 'power house' four piece, providing high octane blistering punk.
The Recently Deceived offer up heart felt lyrics, spat over melodic hardcore rhythms... yes your ears will bleed, but... they will be pleased!



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Recently Deceived

Releases

Use Your Head
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
EP Review: By Soda Boyz
05 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud.
Read More...
Dead Kid Harvester - Album Review: The First Sign Of Madness
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I knew this wasn't going to be an easy listen. With a moniker like Dead Kid Harvester and song titles like Scab Made Out Of Faeces, Paul Harvey isn't aiming for middle of the road chart-bothering, but I love music of all extremes and we all need to be challenged.
Read More...
Soda Boyz - Single Review: Home Again
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
This new single from Soda Boyz simmers and shimmers. Totally instrumental, it's a great example of how music doesn't always need words to get the message across.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem