18 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan

09 Apr 2018 // A review by Corinner

To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan.

The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.

The opening track Thank You is written by Stan as an ode to his mother April, his “superwoman” as a way of expressing his gratitude for her love and guidance. "After all we've been through, you've never run out of love," Walker sings in the touching tribute. "There's no words to say but 'I love you', so I'ma say thank you - just know it will never, ever be enough." This was start of a beautiful journey through six tracks of emotional, powerful and honest lyrics.

The 6 songs are a thank you to all his supporters. A remarkable gift.

Stan’s vocals, do not appear to have been affected greatly by the removal of his stomach, he still has the powerful and soulful sound he always had. I acknowledge the fear over losing his voice, the sheer physical aspect of singing and all that goes with this, so this is indeed a celebration of his voice rising up once more.

I hadn’t taken much notice of our local singing sensation before. I take notice now. Not only because of Stan's extraordinary journey which got him to this point in his life, but because of the incredible raw emotion and honesty has he expressed when he sings. This is the first time I have had to review an album which has given me chills.

Each track is a poignant reminder of the sheer talent of Stan; however, two stood out for me - Find You ft. Maisey Rika and Whakamoemiti. If ever there was a time in which I have been rendered speechless, unable to put down in words how much these songs affected me, then that time came with these two songs. Find You is an eerily moving and stunning song which sent shivers down my spine. Maisey Rika compliments Stan’s vocals exquisitely. The symbolic lyrics captivate. “The storm may come and the rain will fall. Fire and pain go hand in hand — what more. The sun will rise and I may fall.”

The translation of Whakamoemiti means praising and giving thanks. The song is sung in Te Reo and is delivered with such heartfelt passion and love.

The EP wraps up with the beautiful I Surrender.

This is a stunning sample of the music he has been working on over the years. “This EP has songs I've written 11 years ago, 5 years ago, 3 years ago & now. All these songs were written in break-even times in my life. So, I thought now would be a perfect time for them to be heard, alongside 1 of the biggest times of my life. This isn’t really an indication of what’s to come next, but these songs are for now.”

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Stan Walker

It’s been a whirlwind of activity for Stan Walker since he won the title of Australian Idol in 2009. Even before the year was out, his association with Sony Music Australia was ignited with the multi-platinum debut single BLACK BOX, and multi-platinum debut album INTRODUCING… STAN WALKER, setting up the early stages of his career, and reinforcing his remarkable talent. Taking two weeks off at Christmas time to spend with family and friends, 19 year-old Stan started to map out his plans for 2010, before he was called straight back into work in January of this year. “It was crazy – everything was just going 100 miles per hour, and before I knew it I was straight back into doing interviews, promotion, appearances and gigs,” he says in amazement. “The pace has been really fast, but I’m hanging in there. I’m carefully thinking through who I want to be, and the type of music I want to record for my first full original album.”

One of the stirring and impressive international collaborations to feature on his upcoming album is Stan’s work with Ryan Tedder, whose midas-touch has graced dozens of certified global chart hits, and who wrote and produced Stan’s new single UNBROKEN.

“I really loved the track as soon as I heard it; the song just won me over with its lyrics. It talks about being unbroken, picking up the pieces of your life and getting back together and moving on. Those lyrics spoke directly to me and the experiences I’ve had in my life, and I’m sure everyone can relate to the song in their own way as well.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stan Walker

Releases

Introducing
Year: ????
Type: Album
From The Inside Out
Year: ????
Type: Album
Let The Music Play
Year: ????
Type: Album
Stan
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Truth and Soul
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Inventing Myself
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinner
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • VIBES
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem