21 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Ed Sheeran @ Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland - 24/03/2018

25 Mar 2018 // A review by Channel1
Walking from the car to Mt Smart Stadium and the heavens open. People are literally flooding in with the standard dress code for outdoor gigs here this year being Ponchos and shorts. Thankfully the rain stops as Wellington's Lost Bird take the stage. To be honest they fill a gap for 30 mins, but their alt country-tinged set doesn't really get people moving. They don't do anything wrong and engage with the crowd, but it is largely background noise as people get busy in the food and drinks stalls.

As darkness falls another Wellington band, Drax Project emerge. I missed these guys at Auckland City Limits but had heard good things. They immediately take command of the stage and crowd and it's easy to see why they got this slot. Their Jazz influenced pop carries well and Shaan Singh has that star quality with an amazing voice and some serious Saxophone skills. They are really comfortable on the big stage. These guys are set to be one of New Zealand's most exciting new chart-bothering pop acts.

Ok, I had some pretty negative preconceptions about Ed Sheeran (a bit like Hayley Holt) and this happens with any act that has his level of success. All of his albums have debuted at Number 1, he had more top ten hits off his Divide album than any other act, the most Spotify streams and by the end of this tour apparently 1 out of 20 New Zealanders will have seen Ed Sheeran perform!

So, let's see what all the fuss is about. He takes to the stage, one man, a smile and a guitar. It takes some guts to entertain 50,000 people for 90 mins without any band to back you up so this should be interesting. It is worth noting that a lack of screens at the side of the stage is a real shame as from the back people really struggled to see what is going on. Apparently, there were some tech issues due to the weather, but I am sorry, Foo Fighters played here the other month in one of the heaviest downpours I have ever seen and had screens covering the whole area! What compounds this tonight is Ed has obviously put some real effort into a backdrop which has him superimposed over some very cool imagery.

He uses a loop pedal to create the backing music and explains to the crowd that he isn't lip syncing or miming as some people had criticised at his last Glastonbury slot. His talent and personality immediately shine through. The songs are interspersed with funny banter and stories. This is all about him being him. Him being human and connecting with people.

He once said that being humble, being a likeable person and being himself are three of his strongest traits. This is why so many people like Ed Sheeran and buy his music. He is like the Dave Grohl of the pop world. Of course, he has real talent and rips through songs like Castle on the Hill, The A Team, and 17 other hit singles but there is no bullshit about him, no pretentiousness, no visible ego. There are a few fillers and mid-set the energy does drop a little but a stunning cover of Nina Simone's Feeling Good is a highlight and after a huge crowd sing along to the aptly titled Sing he disappears briefly to emerge with an All Blacks shirt on. It has the name HOLT emblazoned on the back as a tongue in cheek reference to Hayley Holt who said on breakfast TV that she couldn't see why so many people like Ed Sheeran. He clearly has a sense of humour and after an explosive version of You Need Me, I Don't Need You it is all over.

I still can't see myself listening to Ed Sheeran or buying any of his music as it just isn't my taste, but tonight I got to experience why so many people do. He does what he does very well, he is an excellent songwriter and singer and entertained a crowd of 50,000 people with just an acoustic guitar. That deserves total respect.


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
This debut EP from Wellingtonís Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • VIBES
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem