21 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes

01 Feb 2018 // A review by Channel1
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.

It has its share of celebrities and movie stars along with plenty of that California sunshine but like most towns, there is a dark side. Something just below the surface that eats away despite the sunshine and smiles.

Nick and Cassie Gaffaney along with Geoff Maddock are also a group of Kiwi's who I assume love Santa Barbara so much they named their band after the place. Their latest single Marianne's Dark Eyes definitely has that summer vibe but the subject matter is a person dealing with depression. That darkness just below the surface eating away.

On first listen I can imagine walking along Santa Barbara Pier with this blasting on my headphones or maybe Darla Bea spinning it on one of her many DJ nights at Santa Barbara's beachfront hotels, people dancing and smiling, forgetting about the things that are getting them down. From the first refrain you will be hooked and like all good music, this song transports you to another place.

Not everyone suffers from depression but we have all been there at some point. On the outside no one would know but on the inside the light is going out. It could be a difficult subject for a pop song but Cassie is a great writer. This is pop with a twist of lemon. A little bit of acid. It will make you dance. It will stick in your head and make you smile. Listen to the lyrics though and you will know, just like Marianne we need moments like this to keep the dark away.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara is what happens when 3 Kiwis move to LA and discover a mutual love of 60's influenced pop/rock. Lead by Cassie Gaffaney on guitar and vocals the band formed in the Valley in late 2014 when Cass and her husband Nick met up with their good friend from NZ Geoff Maddock the 3 of them decided a band would be the best way to pass the time in a new country.

Santa Barbara is definitely about making music that suits a party but the underlying vibe has a depth and passion displayed through beautiful harmonies and sophisticated arrangements. Its surf rock/doo wop/guitar pop for the 21st century from New Zealand via Los Angeles.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Santa Barbara

Releases

There are no releases to display for Santa Barbara.

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Foo Fighters @ Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland - 03/02/2018
04 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
It had been raining on and off for most of the day but just as Wellington band Ayn Randy took the stage the heavens opened. It set the scene for what was going to be an awesome night where the weather played a big part in the memories of the 40,000 people packed into Auckland's Mount Smart Stadium.
Read More...
Festival Review: Laneway 2018 @ Albert Street Precinct, Auckland - 29/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
2017 was my first time at Laneway. I went for one reason only and that was to see Refused.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 1 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 26/01/2018
29 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
I arrived early for this first of two nights of bands who have come together to say goodbye to iconic Auckland venue the Kings Arms, which will finally close its doors at the end of February. Punters are slowly streaming in for the opening band A Doubtful Sound (isn't that the best name ever for a Kiwi Band) but the band don't care about how many people are in the room and hit the set full tilt.
Read More...
EP review: Hault
06 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
The 90's will always be my favourite decade for music. It was a time when rock bands took a punk attitude and melded it with face melting heavy 70's style riffs and this is all perfectly summed up in the Sonic Youth doco 1991 the year that punk broke (check it out).
Read More...
Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017
19 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet.
Read More...
Gig Review: Armed in Advance, Fallstate and AnimalHead @ Backbeat, Auckland - 8/12/2017
16 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Back at Backbeat. Deja vu, is a feeling you get when you see a lot of bands in Auckland.
Read More...
Scalper - EP Review: Want
12 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
I read a Facebook post from a friend of mine in the UK recently who writes reviews. It went something like this "somebody please send me some music I can feel enough to believe it".
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem