25 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes

01 Feb 2018 // A review by Channel1
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.

It has its share of celebrities and movie stars along with plenty of that California sunshine but like most towns, there is a dark side. Something just below the surface that eats away despite the sunshine and smiles.

Nick and Cassie Gaffaney along with Geoff Maddock are also a group of Kiwi's who I assume love Santa Barbara so much they named their band after the place. Their latest single Marianne's Dark Eyes definitely has that summer vibe but the subject matter is a person dealing with depression. That darkness just below the surface eating away.

On first listen I can imagine walking along Santa Barbara Pier with this blasting on my headphones or maybe Darla Bea spinning it on one of her many DJ nights at Santa Barbara's beachfront hotels, people dancing and smiling, forgetting about the things that are getting them down. From the first refrain you will be hooked and like all good music, this song transports you to another place.

Not everyone suffers from depression but we have all been there at some point. On the outside no one would know but on the inside the light is going out. It could be a difficult subject for a pop song but Cassie is a great writer. This is pop with a twist of lemon. A little bit of acid. It will make you dance. It will stick in your head and make you smile. Listen to the lyrics though and you will know, just like Marianne we need moments like this to keep the dark away.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara is what happens when 3 Kiwis move to LA and discover a mutual love of 60's influenced pop/rock. Lead by Cassie Gaffaney on guitar and vocals the band formed in the Valley in late 2014 when Cass and her husband Nick met up with their good friend from NZ Geoff Maddock the 3 of them decided a band would be the best way to pass the time in a new country.

Santa Barbara is definitely about making music that suits a party but the underlying vibe has a depth and passion displayed through beautiful harmonies and sophisticated arrangements. Its surf rock/doo wop/guitar pop for the 21st century from New Zealand via Los Angeles.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Santa Barbara

Releases

There are no releases to display for Santa Barbara.

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem