24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Festival Review: Laneway 2018 @ Albert Street Precinct, Auckland - 29/01/2018

30 Jan 2018 // A review by Channel1

2017 was my first time at Laneway. I went for one reason only and that was to see Refused. I am probably not in the target demographic for Laneway which is definitely the more indie/dance vibe but Laneway has a habit of messing everyone and sticking a band on like Refused who you just wouldn't expect. The year before it was Royal Blood.

So during that first Laneway experience, I discovered more music than I could ever do browsing through Spotify. The Festival forces you to see bands that you might not normally see and the genres are completely mixed. From Punk to Electronic to Indie to Dance. Laneway now has the best venue of any New Zealand festival. Albert Park is the perfect location, the trees for shade, the views, the layout and the fact you don't have to queue forever to get a drink or some food.

Wax Chattels

I arrived early to see opening band Wax Chattels. They blew my mind at Whammy Bar a few months ago so I was keen to see them on a bigger stage. Think Joy Division meets The Fall and you get an idea of what Wax Chattels sound like. But in music 1+1 doesn't always equal 2. Wax Chattels also add the most punk rock drummer (and cymbal) you have ever seen while the rest of music is channeled through a keyboard that has more effects pedals than Matt Bellamy from muse and a bass player who is equally at home hammering away or adding beats to the mix. She also has killer vocals.

What this means is Wax Chattles are one of the most exciting, danciest, most punk, indie, electronic bands NZ has ever produced. Be warned, be warmed, be shocked, behold.

Die! Die! Die!

These guys have always had a sense of melody and melancholy that underpins the destructive energy of their live shows. Every time I see them it makes me rethink what I enjoy about music. It's confrontational but also communal, they always give it 100% whether it's Andrew playing his guitar with a drumstick or getting his face cut by jumping into the crowd as he does today. There is also a soulful joy that smiles below these caustic riffs. This is music with texture and depth. Music that is constantly pushing to break the mold. It mutates and deviates.Today the sonic assault was full on. Die! Die! Die! are essential listening and viewing if you have a heart and a twisted soul

Pond

This Pond is was created by mixing water (or maybe alcohol) with just the right amount of funk and spunk then letting it ferment in the hot Perth sunshine. Visually the band come across like a supergroup made up of the Bee Gees, Psychadellic Furs and INXS and to be honest the music isn't too far from that mix either.

The comparisons and links to Tame Impala are always going to be there but for me, Nick Allbrook makes all the difference in Pond. His movements, the vocal style just keeps things interesting and exciting.

This is funk with a dark crazy soul which goes down great on a hot summer's afternoon. The crowd is dancing and swelling in numbers as the Princess Street mainstage beings to really bake. Nick is great to watch and this unique mix of musicians just keeps you guessing. For 30 minutes everything is OK in the world and you realise it's OK to be a bit weird all you need to do is have some fun. Pond are some kind of wonderful.

After a food break, it's back to the main Princess street stage to see Wolf Alice. As I approach the stage there are already a few thousand people in front of me and I can hear the howl of the wolf. Ellie Roswell can scream, howl and sing like a goddess. There are remnants of Courtney Love in her style but without the baggage. She creates a cool and by cool, I mean distant connection to the audience. Wolf Alice are not creating in your face angst rock, they are quite genre-neutral both musically and visually and comfortable carving their own niche. It is easy to see why they were asked to support Queens of The Stone Age recently and today they showed why they are one of the most talked about acts around.

Connan Mockasin

I was looking forward to this set as Connan is one of those people who seems to have been around forever but someone I had never seen play before. Unfortunately, this set was going to be my first "Muzac" experience of the day. You know the music that is there but you don't really notice it. The laid-back trippy vibe of the music was obviously going down well with the people around me but for me, it became background music. I found myself switching off and just didn't get a connection. Maybe it was the heat, maybe I needed a drink but despite all his obvious talent, this was the first act of the day where I left feeling nothing.

The Internet

The Internet have the worst name for a band ever. Apparently, it came about as a joke and they should have left it that way but what's in a name? The crowd growing around the Rotunda stage is massive. The Internet (actually WWW would have been a better name) get into it and they look great but just as the songs start to build they all tend to reach an anticlimax. It is ultimately frustrating, all the ingredients are there but the chef obviously took the day off. It is clear that this band has everything they need within their reach and they are grasping at pieces and trying to make it fit but just like the actual internet, their personality is lost in the interference.There is an urban soul vibe with a funk element but just when you are getting into a song it kind of peters out rather than ending on a high note. Massive, massive potential but today The Internet wasn't working properly.

From the band with the worst name to the band with one of the best,

BadBadNotGood

As I mentioned before, Laneway is a great opportunity to discover new music. Music that will become a part of your life. This set was one of those moments. As a band BadBadNotGood confound and surprise in equal measure. Just when you think you have them pinned down as a trippy jazz band they change tempo, throw a bit of hip-hop or electronica into the mix and take things to a whole other level. I love bands that keep things interesting and the set builds to a full on close in a goodgoodnotbad kind of way.

Anderson.Paak

Anderson.Paak was always going to be a highlight. He has been making waves ever since he contributed six songs to Dr Dre’s Compton and has become something of a protégé. He also has two killer albums which you should check out.  

Today as the sun begins to fade the largest crowd so far is gathering around the Rotunda Stage. This is this first act where you can’t get near the stage and as soon .Paak runs out wearing a Puma top that is brighter than the sun the place explodes. The boom hop beats get everyone bouncing and it’s an explosive start to the set. There is so much more to .Paak though than just west coast party rhymes. The Kendrick Lamar comparisons are obvious and today he shows what a great entertainer he is as well. The Free Nationals are tight and keep the party rolling. As .Paak gets bigger there will be plenty of people claiming they were here at his first New Zealand show.

Slowdive

I wander over to the Fountain stage to catch Slowdive. I remember them from when I lived in the UK as they were tagged as part of the early nineties shoegazing scene which is something I was never into. Today the ambient introspective music style is a shock to the system after just watching .Paak and it brings me crashing. The sun has taken it’s toll and my energy is falling in time with Slowdive’s music. It makes me a little too relaxed and I decide to head out into the night.

Laneway 2018 you have been amazing. Great venue, great bands and some new memories. See you there in 2019.


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Foo Fighters @ Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland - 03/02/2018
04 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
It had been raining on and off for most of the day but just as Wellington band Ayn Randy took the stage the heavens opened. It set the scene for what was going to be an awesome night where the weather played a big part in the memories of the 40,000 people packed into Auckland's Mount Smart Stadium.
Read More...
Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes
01 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 1 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 26/01/2018
29 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
I arrived early for this first of two nights of bands who have come together to say goodbye to iconic Auckland venue the Kings Arms, which will finally close its doors at the end of February. Punters are slowly streaming in for the opening band A Doubtful Sound (isn't that the best name ever for a Kiwi Band) but the band don't care about how many people are in the room and hit the set full tilt.
Read More...
EP review: Hault
06 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
The 90's will always be my favourite decade for music. It was a time when rock bands took a punk attitude and melded it with face melting heavy 70's style riffs and this is all perfectly summed up in the Sonic Youth doco 1991 the year that punk broke (check it out).
Read More...
Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017
19 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet.
Read More...
Gig Review: Armed in Advance, Fallstate and AnimalHead @ Backbeat, Auckland - 8/12/2017
16 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Back at Backbeat. Deja vu, is a feeling you get when you see a lot of bands in Auckland.
Read More...
Scalper - EP Review: Want
12 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
I read a Facebook post from a friend of mine in the UK recently who writes reviews. It went something like this "somebody please send me some music I can feel enough to believe it".
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem