19 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chores - Single Review: Surrender

25 Jan 2018 // A review by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
 

The duo frequent the airwaves on stations such as George FM, The Edge and ZM with their winning combination of deep house and pop melodies paired with soulful lyrics, they have played an impressive line-up of the best festivals and events NZ has to offer, and have supported some of the biggest names in dance music; such as A–Trak, Tensnake, Basement Jaxx, Peking Duck, What So Not, and Dusky. 

With a massive one million plus streams across Spotify, Soundcloud and YouTube, ‘The Georgies’ nominated ‘Best Breakthrough Act’ have certainly made themselves known to electronic music lovers all over the country.

Chores, who are Sam Saunders and Thom Simmons have just released a new single called Surrender, which has already been added to the playlists of George and ZM.

Featuring the strong vocal talents of Abby Wolfe (another Kiwi artist gaining traction), Surrender is infused with soulful lyrics about “diving into a relationship and leaving behind your baggage” surrendering to your feelings. This is a slick and professional production and as the good people at ZM would say… it is an epic banger.

It has a great beat, just enough rich bass to hit the spot, a bit of a storyline going on and sounds like it could possibly become a dance anthem, although I haven’t tried, I’ll leave that to the younger members of our population. 

My general consensus is, these guys know what it takes to get the crowds on the dance floor and the place pumping.  Chores cleverly mix epic up and coming Kiwi artists with their award winning electronic music, creating impressive dance music. Which they certainly have managed to achieve with Surrender.   

I like what these guys are doing, I recommend giving Surrender a listen.

RATING: 4/5


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

 

About Chores

Chores are a multi-talented duo specialising in electronic music production, songwriting and DJing. They’re well known for their trademark soulful vocals placed with deep house and pop melodies.

Chores’ tracks have accumulated over a one million streams across Spotify, Soundcloud and YouTube. This includes their Owl Eyes edit which reached #5 on Hype Machine’s overall chart and their Flight Facilities edit which entered the top 50.

Their latest singles, Telling Lies and Gravitate, were released via Sony Music NZ and have been on heavy rotation on George FM. Telling Lies was created by teaming up with Grammy nominated vocal engineer Simon Cohen (Justin Bieber, will.i.am) and was included in George FM’s annual yearbook and reached #4 in the overall charts in July 2016.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chores

Releases

There are no releases to display for Chores.

Other Reviews By Corinner

EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself
19 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem