19 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World

17 Jan 2018 // A review by Corinner

Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters. Jacquie is now based in Nelson and has just released her new album Light For A Broken World featuring James Wilkinson.

The back story to Jacquie’s musical career is a tapestry of rich and colourful moments performing in places such as London, Paris, Strasbourg and Sydney, Making a name for herself as a folk artist in the northeast of England, gaining an honourable mention in the Billboard World Song Contest and the Unisong International Song Competition.  She has recorded three CD's and numerous EP's as a solo artist and as a member of Pounamu and Freewheelin.
 

Jacquie and James, who have shared many musical moments together over the last 25 years, have both brought this album to life. Jacquie's descriptive storytelling seems to effortlessly flow through her song writing, this is further enhanced by a beautifully lyrical voice.

James Wilkinson compliments Jacquie with his enchanting instrumental and vocal accompaniment. The sound of bass adding another layer of depth to a selection of tracks.

Perhaps I may describe Light For A Broken World as acoustic folk, it is a smooth blend of original material (all songs are written by Jacquie), strong vocals and impeccable guitar playing. Her voice has been described as “clear”. Clear, strong and well defined is a perfect way to describe it. 

The opening track, which is also the title for the album is based around a Japanese concept that flaws in objects are part of their beauty. “Hey light for a broken world. These cracks in the clay leave room for the light. These beautiful faults in this world of mine.” This was lovely introduction to this album, however I’ll wear yellow and you stayed were the two songs which I played repeatedly.

Jacquie shared with us through this album, some very personal moments in her life. Eloquently. Distinctly.

On the 11 track album is unquestionably some incredible song writing, faerie tales and the letter are two examples.  Look Up, which is the final track, also features several of Jacquie’s family members and that wonderful sound of the fretless bass coming through from James.

Listening to Light For A Broken World, has been an educational and beautiful journey.

The physical CD comes with a booklet and the lyrics. This on the back cover of the CD sleeve I rather appreciated.“Do not be dismayed by the brokenness of the world. All things break. And all things can be mended. Not with time, as they say, but with intention. So, go love intentionally, extravagantly, unconditionally. The broken world waits in darkness for the light that is you.” - From “InHumanity: Letters from the Trenches’ by L.R.Knost.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

Other Reviews By Corinner

EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself
19 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem