19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank

10 Jan 2018 // A review by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records. He has been collaborating with Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li’l Sister Jen) for some years now and the last article I found on the pair indicated that they have never even met in person and up until recently they had never even spoken. Such is the power of the internet that allows collaborations from opposite sides of the world.
 

Delving through the archives, I came across an interview on the muzic.net.nz website written in 2009 on our friend Psyrok, I won’t go over old ground as I am sure a lot has happened since 2009… but a few things jumped out at me. Such as, he came up with the name Psyrok in a dream by an ancient spirit, he described his music as original. Individual. Empathetic and he was working with Li’l Sister Jen even back then. 

A description of Psyrok’s style of music would be chill out, downbeat, trip-hop, electronic and downtempo. Omega Point Blank is no exception; the 4 track EP is pretty chill. I personally would describe this EP as trip-hop with ambience. Think Portishead, Morcheeba, Massive Attack.

You simply float into first track Only Yesterday. If we were to take a step back into the 1990’s where chill out rooms were a thing, then imagine sinking down into a huge beanbag and getting lost in the music. This is a perfect zone out piece of music and gives us a good immediate hit of the beautiful soothing vocals of Li’l Sister Jen.

Moving onto Space Blues I rather liked, it reminded me of something slightly Beastie Boys but not really. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it… any way I am still zoning out. Maybe even spacing out and I am really enjoying what I am hearing.
 

The rest of the EP, which is two more tracks; Lion Son and Omega Point Blank continues on the same path, however before you ascend into the big fluffy white clouds, it takes on a futuristic feel and the conclusion of this EP is a little bit jarring with all the chatter about space. Which is ironic.

I enjoyed almost a veil of peace sensation that settled on me when I listened to this EP, I say almost because the title track at the end kind of rattled me slightly, but having said that it also added another trippy dimension. This falls slightly short of ending up on Café Del Mar.

I totally recommend checking Omega Point Blank out.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

About Psyrok

Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.

Psyrok recently released the collaborative EP 'Calculus' featuring Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li'l Sister Jen). The two have never met and until they were introduced during an interview on Radio New Zealand's 'Music 101' show, they had never even spoken. The EP was created entirely over the internet with Psyrok writing and producing the music and Jenny contributing vocals.

Psyrok has previously released another EP featuring Jenny Larsson, titled 'Akinosuke' and his debut solo release 'Volume 1'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Psyrok

Releases

Omega Point Blank
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Calculus
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Volume 1
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Akinosuke EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself
19 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.
Read More...
Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons
18 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single Review: That Wave
12 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Rapper and songwriter Imagine This (Khalid El-Shareif), has released a bright and meaningful new single called That Wave. It is totally compatible with the stunning visuals that make you wish you are there in the bright blue ocean; it is what we dream a glorious Kiwi summer should be.
Read More...
Single Review: Scared of Girls: Waihi Beach
08 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Scared Of Girls are a young garage surf punk 4-piece from Auckland with big ambitions and low standards and as such are here for a good time not a long time, their aim is to throw themselves into 2018 by churning out party punk bangers at energetic shows up and down the country. You can’t get more of a summer vibe then this bands single Waihi Beach, which is to be released on Friday 8th December.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem