19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight

30 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.

2017 has been quite a year for this talented musician, with two California tours, a 18 date national tour of New Zealand, the release of her first two singles King For A Day and Sold (Take A Shot)and her debut solo album Taking Flight, not to mention all the other amazing experiences and people she has met along the way.

Emma, formerly the front woman of Kiwi rock band Static Era (Victor Pesch, Chris Yong and Dave Rhodes) is not only a talented musician, but she also comes across as a genuine and down to earth person and this is reflected in her music.

Having reviewed King For A Day, I was almost expecting a Pop/Hip-Hop vibe to this album. But I was wrong. Four songs into it and it became clear that this is an album of honest emotion, it is strong and raw and quite frankly beautiful “A lot of my stuff these days is a little more Pink meets Adele meets Tracy Chapman, which I like. It's got a hint of aggression and sassiness but with a funky edge”.

Emma's writing is inspired by life and this shines through on each of the 8 tracks. This is real meaningful storytelling.

Sold (Take A Shot) Feat. Tony G is a strong start to this album with a powerful message of 'my body my choice'. This track has the Hip-Hop tone I was expecting but as I start to work through the songs track 3 made me sit up and really take notice. Be Brave has a beautiful melody and lyrics which are thought provoking “Open your mind won't you dream a little bigger” this is moving, elegant and captivating “Even the strongest sometimes have their days, just be brave”. Spine tingling, one of those songs which give you a slap across the face and wake you up from the daily fog which clouds your mind. In my opinion this is a hit waiting to pounce on a unsuspecting or perhaps suspecting public.

Track 4 I Can See You, speeds things up a notch and shows the diversity of Emma's musical talent. Catchy is how I would describe it, “Losing all control in the rock and roll”.

Emma G has a powerful voice and this is evident in each of the tracks. I thought nothing could top Be Brave, but then came track 8 It Was Only You, An original mix of drum n bass with a classical twist combined with her stunning voice, haunting, dramatic and infused with that bone shaking bass which I am slightly addicted to. This track has been mixed faultlessly. Close your eyes and crank up the volume on this one.

An album of many faceted layers, showcasing Emma's diverse talent. Stunning from beginning to end.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Emma G

A combination of Adele and Pink, with Tracy Chapman as Godmother; Emma G describes her sound as soul pop-rock.

Musician, singer, songwriter, Emma G's sultry tones are punctuated with a gutsy quality that hammers home her messages of empowerment, love and respect.

After releasing eight singles, and successfully charting a number 10 album on the New Zealand Top 40 with her band, Static Era; Emma G moved to Washington DC from Auckland, New Zealand to pursue a solo career in music in November 2015. Working full time as a street performer, she also plays in various clubs, bars and community events throughout the city - and often far beyond. In the last year, she has played The Whitehouse, The Kennedy Center, The National Cherry Blossom-, and Smithsonian Folklife festivals, The Atlas Performing Arts Theater, toured California twice (including iconic music venues The Mint and The Viper Room), released two solo acoustic EP's, her debut studio single King for a Day, been featured three times on Fox5, in Washingtonian Magazine's "Best of DC" edition, and had some radio play.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emma G

Releases

Taking Flight
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself
19 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.
Read More...
Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons
18 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single Review: That Wave
12 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Rapper and songwriter Imagine This (Khalid El-Shareif), has released a bright and meaningful new single called That Wave. It is totally compatible with the stunning visuals that make you wish you are there in the bright blue ocean; it is what we dream a glorious Kiwi summer should be.
Read More...
Single Review: Scared of Girls: Waihi Beach
08 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Scared Of Girls are a young garage surf punk 4-piece from Auckland with big ambitions and low standards and as such are here for a good time not a long time, their aim is to throw themselves into 2018 by churning out party punk bangers at energetic shows up and down the country. You can’t get more of a summer vibe then this bands single Waihi Beach, which is to be released on Friday 8th December.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem