20 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight

30 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.

2017 has been quite a year for this talented musician, with two California tours, a 18 date national tour of New Zealand, the release of her first two singles King For A Day and Sold (Take A Shot)and her debut solo album Taking Flight, not to mention all the other amazing experiences and people she has met along the way.

Emma, formerly the front woman of Kiwi rock band Static Era (Victor Pesch, Chris Yong and Dave Rhodes) is not only a talented musician, but she also comes across as a genuine and down to earth person and this is reflected in her music.

Having reviewed King For A Day, I was almost expecting a Pop/Hip-Hop vibe to this album. But I was wrong. Four songs into it and it became clear that this is an album of honest emotion, it is strong and raw and quite frankly beautiful “A lot of my stuff these days is a little more Pink meets Adele meets Tracy Chapman, which I like. It's got a hint of aggression and sassiness but with a funky edge”.

Emma's writing is inspired by life and this shines through on each of the 8 tracks. This is real meaningful storytelling.

Sold (Take A Shot) Feat. Tony G is a strong start to this album with a powerful message of 'my body my choice'. This track has the Hip-Hop tone I was expecting but as I start to work through the songs track 3 made me sit up and really take notice. Be Brave has a beautiful melody and lyrics which are thought provoking “Open your mind won't you dream a little bigger” this is moving, elegant and captivating “Even the strongest sometimes have their days, just be brave”. Spine tingling, one of those songs which give you a slap across the face and wake you up from the daily fog which clouds your mind. In my opinion this is a hit waiting to pounce on a unsuspecting or perhaps suspecting public.

Track 4 I Can See You, speeds things up a notch and shows the diversity of Emma's musical talent. Catchy is how I would describe it, “Losing all control in the rock and roll”.

Emma G has a powerful voice and this is evident in each of the tracks. I thought nothing could top Be Brave, but then came track 8 It Was Only You, An original mix of drum n bass with a classical twist combined with her stunning voice, haunting, dramatic and infused with that bone shaking bass which I am slightly addicted to. This track has been mixed faultlessly. Close your eyes and crank up the volume on this one.

An album of many faceted layers, showcasing Emma's diverse talent. Stunning from beginning to end.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Emma G

A combination of Adele and Pink, with Tracy Chapman as Godmother; Emma G describes her sound as soul pop-rock.

Musician, singer, songwriter, Emma G's sultry tones are punctuated with a gutsy quality that hammers home her messages of empowerment, love and respect.

After releasing eight singles, and successfully charting a number 10 album on the New Zealand Top 40 with her band, Static Era; Emma G moved to Washington DC from Auckland, New Zealand to pursue a solo career in music in November 2015. Working full time as a street performer, she also plays in various clubs, bars and community events throughout the city - and often far beyond. In the last year, she has played The Whitehouse, The Kennedy Center, The National Cherry Blossom-, and Smithsonian Folklife festivals, The Atlas Performing Arts Theater, toured California twice (including iconic music venues The Mint and The Viper Room), released two solo acoustic EP's, her debut studio single King for a Day, been featured three times on Fox5, in Washingtonian Magazine's "Best of DC" edition, and had some radio play.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emma G

Releases

Taking Flight
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem