18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I知 Saying It Now

20 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I知 Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody. It is an album with an incredible backstory, one which took 25 years in the writing and one year in the making. 

The reason behind the firm time frame of 12 months in which this personal album has been recorded is because it is a bucket list goal. Diagnosed two years ago with inoperable brain cancer he has always wanted to record an album and suddenly that became a goal. For the last few years and until his diagnosis, Densem was a full time singing and piano teacher, and prior to that he had performed extensively in Australia and New Zealand. He has written many songs which were ready for recording.

Over the last 12 months Jonathan and his family have embarked on an incredible journey with highly skilled musicians, at what he describes as 鍍he best studio in the southern hemisphere, Tim Finn痴 Roundhead Studio痴 in Auckland, the culmination of many years of writing ending up with the recorded album I知 Saying It Now.

25 years in the writing, one year in the making; I am thrilled with the result. As an added bonus I get the joy of catching my sons absent mindedly singing one of my songs as they go about their life just as if they had heard it on the radio. I know they値l always have this to remember me by.

This is one of those life moments when something comes across your desk or into your inbox and makes you take stock of your life. Densem has a wife and two sons this is not his album, it is their album.

I wrote in my notes that Jonathan sounds like a bit of Josh Groban crossed with a splash of Robbie Williams. From smooth ballads to funky upbeat melodies and each track has a personal story to tell. Absorbing is a great way to describe it and heartfelt, definitely that.

Musical Influences from Billy Joel, James Taylor, Missy Higgins and Neil Finn can be heard throughout the album, alongside personal influences from his father, wife and sons.

Each track has well written lyrics weaving stories of personal journeys, family and experiences, but the last song on the album, Love Lives On caused a lump in my throat and is truly a testament to Jonathan痴 magical story writing. Real and honest. 鄭nd all my words fail to say half of what I mean.It's not anger, hate or sadness. It's just pure, pure and it's cold. And so clean. oh I mean. Take the sun from my heart. Watch as it all falls apart

To quote Neil Finn 滴e paints his music with a broad and rich palette of sounds

It has been an honour to review the fruition of a lifelong dream and a lovely addition to our music collection.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford 


Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it 哲ew Folk. 典he resulting 創ew-folk encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, 鄭 mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an 兎nigmatic songbird.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand痴 most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem