25 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017

19 Dec 2017 // A review by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet. His facial expressions show he is 100% committed to whatever it is he is doing and he doesn't give a shit about who is watching or what they think. I am on KRd walking to the Powerstation and the aforementioned guy who is off his head on god knows what carries on about his business.

This gig is going to be amazing. The Powerstation is sold out (even the PM is here). Future Islands are a unique band and we are also going to get to see Kody Neilson. He was billed as Silicon tonight and I was expecting the laid-back synth-driven funk from that debut album but with everything Kody does we should learn to expect the unexpected and Mike Logie (ex The Mint Chicks/Die! Die! Die!) is on stage and a drum kit?

So tonight, we don't get Silicon we get Kody's latest project. Mike is on keys and Kody is playing a side facing drum kit. He is actually a really good drummer. We shouldn't be surprised, Kody and Mike are amongst the most innovative artists NZ has produced. Constantly pushing boundaries and not caring what anyone else thinks. The soundscapes they are creating tonight are more upbeat and frenetic than we heard through Silicon. Kody is clearly enjoying being side stage instead of front and each song melds into the next, building and dropping and taking unexpected twists. We are all connected by computers and electronica nowadays so the beats and bleeps emanating from the stage tonight are mood enhancers that encapsulate soul. Music from the soul is at the core of everything that Kody has ever done. It is genius. Like watching Mogwai with synths.

The Future Islands story goes something like this. Band plays decent synth pop-infused tunes and largely gets ignored. Band plays on a TV show and goes viral. Don't get me wrong, they have put in the hard yards and toured constantly since forming in 2005. If you have never heard of Future Islands go to YouTube and watch them. This is a band that needs to be seen as well as heard.

The stage is simple, no big light show just a plain backlight and it makes tonight feel even more intimate. Future Islands make interesting music. Making interesting music is a goal every artist should aim for. There is depth to it, darkness and light and when you have a frontman like Sam Herring it takes everything to another level. He has a way of connecting with people that I don't think any other frontman comes close to. Every word and sound that comes from him is articulated in a way that connects. Not in a bullshit rockstar way either. Sam literally pours his body and soul into every line, every word. He doesn't have an amazing voice but he is unique and that is far more important. He is the portal and conduit for what he sees and hears. That might translate into a piece of awkward dad dancing or even a bit of Kozac dancing like we were treated to during "Staring at the Sun". You never know what to expect, from guttural doom metal growls to high pitched squeals Sam has no fear and will take each song in any direction he chooses. What the crowd sees and hears is what he feels at that moment.

The result is mesmerising. The songs lift and every person in the room can feel the connection, the chemistry.

The dude can dance. He is from another planet. A Future Island which is not isolated, he comes from a place that is connected by a smile, a look, a feeling. He is 100% committed and he does care, he wants to connect, he wants you to feel it too. Strip away the bullshit just be happy being happy. Judging by the smiling faces tonight we are all there with him.


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem