19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons

18 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack. “The album is odds and ends of our combined mental note taking.  It is very simple….just sifting through metaphysical gunk”.

It has also been said that Cricket Farm tell the hard truth in a soft voice, ain’t that the truth.

Delightful and enchanting this band has brought together a huge wealth of musical experiences and different genres gaining influences from jazz, punk, folk, afro/funk and dub/reggae. They are close friends who have pooled together all this eclectic musical knowledge and experience to give us a truly captivating album.

You may think I am going slightly over board in my gushy ramblings and perhaps I have, I think I am infatuated with the entire bands musical offerings. If this is what “singing you through the empty pockets of life on a transcendental journey through a musical soundscape of candy mountains and bellybutton lint”... sounds like then I am sold.  

Before I delve any further into Bending Spoons, I shall introduce the people which have given us this colourful transcendental musical delight. Cricket farm are made up of Hayley Robertson (vocal/ukulele/clarinet), Joel (vocal/acoustic and electric guitars) and Sims (vocal/acoustic guitar). One of them can even play some mean spoons as the opening track (Bending Spoons) can attest to. This was the first release for the band.

This is a charming album, soul food for a busy mind and tired body; it drifts around you with the warm tones of the clarinet adding extra depth to an already rich instrumental offering.

The combined mental note taking has provided some interesting, and thoughtful lyrics. My favourite track was number 10 Coastin “maybe we will go insane together – maybe we get lost at sea together. No is a place no-one goes”.

Cricket Farm has been a delightful surprise, and they continue to delight right down to the final track. For All We Know is spacey and futuristic and at that point I truly believed I was on a transcendental journey, (that or my herbal tea wasn’t just chamomile).

Candy mountains and bellybutton lint sound pretty good to me. I would totally recommend adding Bending Spoons to your music collection this summer.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Cricket Farm

Cricket Farm are a three-piece indie-folk/jazz act hailing from Auckland.

Since their formation in 2016 they have won the hearts of audiences with their quaint and sunny sound which the band describes as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists.”
Cricket Farm is made up of multidisciplinary artist Hayley Robertson, Sims Ross (Yebiisu, The Murderchord) and Joel Vinsen (Ijebu Pleasure Club, Spiral, Panhandlers).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cricket Farm

Releases

Bending Spoons
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself
19 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single Review: That Wave
12 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Rapper and songwriter Imagine This (Khalid El-Shareif), has released a bright and meaningful new single called That Wave. It is totally compatible with the stunning visuals that make you wish you are there in the bright blue ocean; it is what we dream a glorious Kiwi summer should be.
Read More...
Single Review: Scared of Girls: Waihi Beach
08 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Scared Of Girls are a young garage surf punk 4-piece from Auckland with big ambitions and low standards and as such are here for a good time not a long time, their aim is to throw themselves into 2018 by churning out party punk bangers at energetic shows up and down the country. You can’t get more of a summer vibe then this bands single Waihi Beach, which is to be released on Friday 8th December.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem