18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Imagine This - Single Review: That Wave

12 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

Rapper and songwriter Imagine This (Khalid El-Shareif), has released a bright and meaningful new single called That Wave. It is totally compatible with the stunning visuals that make you wish you are there in the bright blue ocean; it is what we dream a glorious Kiwi summer should be. Mark Yela at GetHighVisuals never fails to impress.  

The latest single was written sitting in the golden sands of Piha, local surfing legends lending to the inspiration. To quote what has already been beautifully said “That Wavedistills the breathless sensation of riding life’s highs and lows, sending the listener into a state of sun drenched grace”.  We could all use a little sun drenched grace.

You may be forgiven if you think it is funky song about surfing and “riding that wave” the visuals will probably add to that perception, but it is actually a metaphor for riding life’s ups and downs making it through a wipe-out, getting back on that board and seeking out the biggest barrel you can find.

That Wave showcases Imagine This as a talented songwriter and rapper, he is also extremely proficient both on the local and International stage. His heart and soul goes into his music as you can hear on this track. 

It is rap to an electronica beat, but somehow it is almost mesmerizing, there is no big bass drop or high tech 360° headset needed to enjoy the experience (although there is no doubt it would certainly enhance the experience). It is still electronic wizardry as I have mentioned in the past.   

What I like about Imagine This is each time I hear a track he has written and produced, there is a unique twist infused into it, from a Middle Eastern vibe, to a high tech small planet rap tour with King Kapisi through Auckland, to the significance of riding the waves in Piha.

If a mellow electronic track with a catchy beat is your cup of tea, then be sure to add That Wave to your summer playlist and turn up the volume.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem