18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scared Of Girls - Single Review: Waihi Beach

08 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

Scared Of Girls are a young garage surf punk 4-piece from Auckland with big ambitions and low standards and as such are here for a good time not a long time, their aim is to throw themselves into 2018 by churning out party punk bangers at energetic shows up and down the country. You can’t get more of a summer vibe then this bands single Waihi Beach, which is to be released on Friday 8th December.

This song basically describes my teenage years, “sitting in a car midnight at Waihi Beach” back then it was a Ford Escort, cell phones didn’t exist and our Led Zep was cranked from a tape in the tape deck. There may have been “Lion Rouge” involved, I am pretty sure it was only one of four choices back then. Ahh the memories.

There is not much of a story to this song; basically they just want to waste all summer with you at Waihi Beach, then they added a surf punk, soak up the sun, party vibe sound with fast guitar and a catchy chorus. I have my suspicions the fear of girls may not be as crippling as they say.

This is a track that you hear and it will bring back summery memories or become part of some new ones. That is if your memory doesn’t become too soaked in beer and other adult refreshments.

On closer inspection of Scared Of Girls, it looks like the low standards they have may have lifted, they have smart graphic art and not bad photography on their social media pages, they even have a mission it seems, which goes like this… “Scared of Girls are sincere in their commitment to their brand and demographic—which often involves a lot of social commentary, influenced by growing up in New Zealand, and their (intentional or not) encouragement of young people to squeeze the most out of their youth and make their experiences as vibrant and significant as possible.” Woahh dudes, there is some thought gone into that.

This will make you want to grab your sunscreen and surfboard and head to the nearest beach, Lucky for me, one of them happens to be Waihi.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Scared Of Girls

Scared of Girls are a surf punk 4-piece from Auckland that play fast-paced and poppy guitar-driven tunes about Kiwi beaches, frantic pre-inspection flat cleans, and the highs and lows of millennial best friendship. Named after their crippling mutual fear of the opposite sex, the Scaredies are here for a good time not a long time, and heading into 2018 are looking to keep churning out party punk bangers while playing ripper shows all up and down the country.

Instagram Page
Spotify Page

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scared Of Girls


Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem