24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scared Of Girls - Single Review: Waihi Beach

08 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

Scared Of Girls are a young garage surf punk 4-piece from Auckland with big ambitions and low standards and as such are here for a good time not a long time, their aim is to throw themselves into 2018 by churning out party punk bangers at energetic shows up and down the country. You can’t get more of a summer vibe then this bands single Waihi Beach, which is to be released on Friday 8th December.

This song basically describes my teenage years, “sitting in a car midnight at Waihi Beach” back then it was a Ford Escort, cell phones didn’t exist and our Led Zep was cranked from a tape in the tape deck. There may have been “Lion Rouge” involved, I am pretty sure it was only one of four choices back then. Ahh the memories.

There is not much of a story to this song; basically they just want to waste all summer with you at Waihi Beach, then they added a surf punk, soak up the sun, party vibe sound with fast guitar and a catchy chorus. I have my suspicions the fear of girls may not be as crippling as they say.
 

This is a track that you hear and it will bring back summery memories or become part of some new ones. That is if your memory doesn’t become too soaked in beer and other adult refreshments.

On closer inspection of Scared Of Girls, it looks like the low standards they have may have lifted, they have smart graphic art and not bad photography on their social media pages, they even have a mission it seems, which goes like this… “Scared of Girls are sincere in their commitment to their brand and demographic—which often involves a lot of social commentary, influenced by growing up in New Zealand, and their (intentional or not) encouragement of young people to squeeze the most out of their youth and make their experiences as vibrant and significant as possible.” Woahh dudes, there is some thought gone into that.

This will make you want to grab your sunscreen and surfboard and head to the nearest beach, Lucky for me, one of them happens to be Waihi.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Scared Of Girls

Scared of Girls are a surf punk 4-piece from Auckland that play fast-paced and poppy guitar-driven tunes about Kiwi beaches, frantic pre-inspection flat cleans, and the highs and lows of millennial best friendship. Named after their crippling mutual fear of the opposite sex, the Scaredies are here for a good time not a long time, and heading into 2018 are looking to keep churning out party punk bangers while playing ripper shows all up and down the country.

Instagram Page
Spotify Page

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scared Of Girls

Releases

SUCK
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem