16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Harry Styles @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/12/2017

04 Dec 2017 // A review by Channel1
It must be interesting being Harry Styles. Thrown into the limelight to be the focal point for one of the highest selling pop acts ever. Touring the world playing nothing smaller than a stadium and trying to remain grounded. He seems to have done it well and tonight is part of the next step in transitioning to a more mature audience as reflected by the songs on his debut solo album.

I wanted to approach this gig as if it was by an artist I had never heard of. It was quite easy as I have never heard a song by 1D and have only caught snippets of his solo album. I walked up to Spark Arena around 8.15 pm expecting crazy queues and hoping to catch a quick beer at the Tuning Fork before the show. The area outside the arena was completely deserted. You would not have thought there was a gig taking place and I pretty much had the Tuning Fork all to myself!

Maybe it was because most of the people at the show are teenage girls? Maybe it's because Harry wants to hit the town early after the show but for whatever reason, he is going to be onstage at 8.45PM meaning I had missed the support act and was in for an early night. 8.30 pm and the arena inside was packed!

The stage set up was simple. Just a video screen either side and a wall of lights as a backdrop. The lights go down and then it happens. The noise of twelve thousand screaming teenage girls is quite something. Kind of like a high pitched jet engine. Harry is used to it!

Guitar in hand, he walks to the mic stand and smiles. The place goes batshit. The opening numbers are mid-paced like he is trying to get a feel for the crowd and I wondered how much more of a connection he could make if the show was in a smaller venue. Those years of playing venues like this though have paid off and once the tempo ups and Harry the showman appears. He connects with the crowd by pointing out individuals and talking to them or about them. One girl called Lauren is selected as it is her birthday (really?) and the crowd sing happy birthday to her. He also grabs a rainbow flag from someone in the crowd and wraps it around his mic stand.

Cliched, cheesy? It could be and I must admit he does tell the crowd he loves them a lot more than is probably necessary but then he gets back to the music it works. He makes it seem effortless, he isn't trying too hard, or even trying to be credible. It appears Harry has done what most ex-boy band members don't and after years of being given one direction, he has successfully chosen own.

He is clearly loving his new rock star persona and he does it well. The seventies tinged ballads are interspersed with two rockier versions of a couple of 1D songs but Kiwi is the moment that both singer and audience have been waiting for. He teased it earlier in the set and after just a couple of lines the crowd have taken over. He stops the song and berates the crowd for "not singing loud enough" and then launches into a full-on high energy version of the song which shows he may just have the ability to make the transition from pop star to rock star.

It's all wrapped up with Sign Of The Times and I head out trying to avoid being swamped by thousands of hyperventilating teenagers.


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem