14 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017

02 Dec 2017 // A review by Channel1

Hey Ho Lets Go!
 
The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties. The obligatory Ramones t-shirts are everywhere but unlike most of the people that you see wearing a Ramones t-shirt walking down the high street, the punters here tonight have clearly heard a Ramones song or two before.
 
NZ band The Dicks amble out onstage looking like a grunge band with a Bez (if you don't know what a Bez is look up The Happy Mondays) dressed in a green Jesus frock with head covered to make him look like some kind of tripped out flower.
 
Bez (or in this case Gus) dances. The rest of the Dicks play a kind of "we don't give a fuck what you think" punk 'n' roll with laid back fun and attitude. Despite not knowing "why the fuck we are here" they are the perfect openers for what is about to follow. 

Gus loses the headdress and comes across like a gurning, younger, skinnier Lemmy. By the end of the set he has also lost the Jesus frock and prance and twists in just a thong. He is the focal point and at times it works and sometimes it distracts from the music. 

The Dicks are that rare thing. A punk band that would go down well at a festival. Gus you are a star and a Dick.
 
1234! Marky Ramone is a legend as the one of the last and longest serving members of the Ramones still gracing this planet. I am not going to ramble on about the songs. If you are reading this you know the Ramones. 

Tonight is an opportunity to experience, or for some lucky enough to have seen the original line up, to reminisce the experience of what it was like to see one of the most important and influential bands ever. It could go horribly wrong!
 
1234! Let's face it, most bands who reform with only one original member are not going to be any good. It's usually a nostalgia trip that leaves everyone feeling a bit disappointed. This show is different. This is Marky Ramones Blitzkrieg and Marky, as the drummer, has assembled a band of seriously talented younger musicians so the crowd can experience the energy of an early Ramones show. 
 
1234! The fact that Marky still plays drums like he was twenty years old in one of the fastest bands ever to perform is phenomenal. His drumming is razor sharp, on point and something amazing to watch. The band blast through 35 Ramones classics at breakneck speed of course only stopping twice for encores.
 
1234! What amazed me was the energy and speed of the songs and how this translated very early into a mosh pit that would put most twenty year olds to shame. Tonight you can see how and why The Ramones blew peoples minds with their speed fueled take on rock n roll. 
 
1234! As a stand alone set the music and performance is as jarring and out of place with todays music scene as it would have been all those years ago when Marky and the rest of the Ramones first blew peoples minds. It still feels completely relavent though. Most people in Markys shoes put on shows like this for the money and some purists will be throwing the "sell out" cry around but tonight isn't a sell out (or sold out which is a shame) 
 
1234! Tonight I got a glimpse of what it would have been like to see a full on high energy Ramones show. I felt the energy, the excitement, the buzz. The crowd loved every second of every three minute hyperpaced rock n roll anthem. 
 
1234! Let's hope Marky keeps going and keeps offering this opportunity for people to have that Ramones experience. Imagine if everyone on the planet who owns a Ramones t-shirt went to this show? In fact if you do own one then you owe it to Marky and the legacy that is the Ramones. Go catch him before it's too late.

Gabba Gabba Hey!


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem