27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017

02 Dec 2017 // A review by Channel1

Hey Ho Lets Go!
 
The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties. The obligatory Ramones t-shirts are everywhere but unlike most of the people that you see wearing a Ramones t-shirt walking down the high street, the punters here tonight have clearly heard a Ramones song or two before.
 
NZ band The Dicks amble out onstage looking like a grunge band with a Bez (if you don't know what a Bez is look up The Happy Mondays) dressed in a green Jesus frock with head covered to make him look like some kind of tripped out flower.
 
Bez (or in this case Gus) dances. The rest of the Dicks play a kind of "we don't give a fuck what you think" punk 'n' roll with laid back fun and attitude. Despite not knowing "why the fuck we are here" they are the perfect openers for what is about to follow. 

Gus loses the headdress and comes across like a gurning, younger, skinnier Lemmy. By the end of the set he has also lost the Jesus frock and prance and twists in just a thong. He is the focal point and at times it works and sometimes it distracts from the music. 

The Dicks are that rare thing. A punk band that would go down well at a festival. Gus you are a star and a Dick.
 
1234! Marky Ramone is a legend as the one of the last and longest serving members of the Ramones still gracing this planet. I am not going to ramble on about the songs. If you are reading this you know the Ramones. 

Tonight is an opportunity to experience, or for some lucky enough to have seen the original line up, to reminisce the experience of what it was like to see one of the most important and influential bands ever. It could go horribly wrong!
 
1234! Let's face it, most bands who reform with only one original member are not going to be any good. It's usually a nostalgia trip that leaves everyone feeling a bit disappointed. This show is different. This is Marky Ramones Blitzkrieg and Marky, as the drummer, has assembled a band of seriously talented younger musicians so the crowd can experience the energy of an early Ramones show. 
 
1234! The fact that Marky still plays drums like he was twenty years old in one of the fastest bands ever to perform is phenomenal. His drumming is razor sharp, on point and something amazing to watch. The band blast through 35 Ramones classics at breakneck speed of course only stopping twice for encores.
 
1234! What amazed me was the energy and speed of the songs and how this translated very early into a mosh pit that would put most twenty year olds to shame. Tonight you can see how and why The Ramones blew peoples minds with their speed fueled take on rock n roll. 
 
1234! As a stand alone set the music and performance is as jarring and out of place with todays music scene as it would have been all those years ago when Marky and the rest of the Ramones first blew peoples minds. It still feels completely relavent though. Most people in Markys shoes put on shows like this for the money and some purists will be throwing the "sell out" cry around but tonight isn't a sell out (or sold out which is a shame) 
 
1234! Tonight I got a glimpse of what it would have been like to see a full on high energy Ramones show. I felt the energy, the excitement, the buzz. The crowd loved every second of every three minute hyperpaced rock n roll anthem. 
 
1234! Let's hope Marky keeps going and keeps offering this opportunity for people to have that Ramones experience. Imagine if everyone on the planet who owns a Ramones t-shirt went to this show? In fact if you do own one then you owe it to Marky and the legacy that is the Ramones. Go catch him before it's too late.

Gabba Gabba Hey!


Review written by Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem