27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Minimal Silence - Single Review: House of Flies

29 Nov 2017 // A review by Channel1
Getting ahead in the music business is a competition. You need to give it your all and hope for a bit of luck to get ahead. You can choose to go head-on with your mainstream peers or you can carve your own path in the shadows of the underground.

Minimal Silence are on a well-lit path. Winners of the Smokefree Rockquest, finalists in Battle of the Bands. Their influences are clear and predictable and if they stay on this track they should have some success. If they dare to deviate and expand their influences to find their own sound then they could be in this for the long haul.

Their debut release House of Flies is a full-on Foo Fightersesque stomper of a single. These guys know how to write a catchy mainstream rock song that has just enough of a killer riff to make it stand out. Guitarist Sabastian has found a good one here. The riff drives and punches with the guitar giving a shot of adrenalin to what is at heart an average by the numbers pop-punk song. It's done well, the vocals are on point without being unique and the drumming is solid.

Formed in 2015 and still of school age it is going to be very interesting to see how far Minimal Silence takes things. The ingredients are all here. The boxes are ticked the awards are in place and the first radio-friendly unit shifter is now unleashed. Let the fun times begin.


Review written by Paul

Releases

There are no releases to display for Minimal Silence.

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem