27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Naught for Nothing - Single Review: Lucid

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Channel1
Talent really does shine. I never really thought about it until now but it does. It stands out, it dazzles, it makes you smile. Naught for Nothing have real talent and their new single Lucid builds on previous releases.

Whilst it isn't a drastic departure from anything they have done before, this track is a great indication of a band who are clearly honing their skills and getting better with each release. The songwriting stands out as does the distinctive vocal from Andrew Reid. He is adding a bit of soul in this track.

There is so much going on musically you could get lost and swept along for the ride not knowing quite what happened when it finally finishes. There is clarity here though and it keeps you focused and connected but every now and then if you want to lose yourself you can. There aren't many songs where you can listen time and time again and have a different equally enjoyable experience on each listen. This is one of them.

The song drives and then stops and starts just to keep things interesting. At 4 min 31 secs long it could have dragged but the track doesn't feel too long. It has just enough space to not overwhelm. Naught for Nothing know how to play to their strengths and limitations. They know when to put a fork in the road and when to pull back rather than going all out. Lucid pulls you in very quickly and has a swagger and sway which sounds like Radiohead jamming with Foals at a Jazz club.

This song will go down nicely at the summer festivals in NZ. Are Naught For Nothing even playing any festivals this summer? If not they should be and if they do then make sure you go and see them. They are one of NZ's best-kept secrets at the moment and they won't stay that way for long if they keep this up.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Naught for Nothing

Naught for Nothing is a four piece Auckland-based band formed late 2015. In a Northcote garage childhood friends Jono (Bass), Fergus (Guitar), Andy (Guitar/Vocals/Keys) and Stephen (Drums) quickly began to find a unique and occasionally challenging Alt rock sound.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Naught for Nothing

Releases

Naught for Nothing
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem