24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: The Electricka Zoo

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinner

If you are on the hunt for a totally original, mind warping album that smacks you across the face with big sound, than this is it. No calming tranquil naval gazing going on here, this self-titled 8 track album may leave you wondering what the heck you are listening to.

Two dudes from New Plymouth now living in our nation’s capital and flying way under the corporate, conventional music radar.  Warning… not for the faint hearted.

To give you a hint of what is in store for your senses, here is a wee definition of the auditory delights waiting. “A duo of Dave Edwards & The Digitator, The Electricka Zoo combine influences from EDM and post-punk avant-garde to jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music”. Imagine if you will all these genres thrown into a blender and out comes a unique loud tornado of electronic sounding rock / punk infused with the afore mentioned genres.  All this is wrapped up in colourful Mandala artwork by Lucie Hannon so if you are intrigued then read on.

This is original indie – fringe music, emanating a unique sound that somehow only bands from Wellington can produce, but it left me wondering how you dance to it. And if you are brave enough how do you dance to it without hurting yourself? These are questions that needed answering so I took to YouTube to see exactly what one does at an Electricka Zoo gig.  I found a wee clip that indicated people were in such awe that moving was not an option, but I am sure things heated up later, and I am almost certain Show Me Your House Moves will grow on me.

The more you listen to The Electricka Zoo the more the Ethno vibe shines through thanks to Dave Edwards(alter ego Black) and his travels.  Dave’s audio-visual projects come under the umbrella label of Fiffdimenson, which if you take a closer look  is very world music focused.

These guys will be playing at the NZ Fringe Fest in Wellington, March 9, 10 and 16, 2018, and I am very tempted to do a road trip to my favourite place in the whole wide world, just so I can seek them out and see if this is danceable music. I salute anyone that makes a whole album out of EDM post-punk avant-garde rock / jazz, raggae, Balkan, Portuguese music.

They will be annihilating our airwaves before you know it, or at least emanating out into the darkness from the Valhalla.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About The Electricka Zoo

The Electricka Zoo are a bass/guitar and live electronica duo of Dave Black and the Digitator.

They combine diverse influences from EDM to postpunk avant-garde rock, jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music into a unique homegrown NZ sound.

Their self-recorded and self-funded debut album, along with images and youtube clips, is available from www.fiffdimension.com/the-electricka-zoo as well as on bandcamp, spotify, Amazon, google play etc

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Electricka Zoo

Releases

The Electricka Zoo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem