27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Album Review: The Electricka Zoo

28 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinner

If you are on the hunt for a totally original, mind warping album that smacks you across the face with big sound, than this is it. No calming tranquil naval gazing going on here, this self-titled 8 track album may leave you wondering what the heck you are listening to.

Two dudes from New Plymouth now living in our nation’s capital and flying way under the corporate, conventional music radar.  Warning… not for the faint hearted.

To give you a hint of what is in store for your senses, here is a wee definition of the auditory delights waiting. “A duo of Dave Edwards & The Digitator, The Electricka Zoo combine influences from EDM and post-punk avant-garde to jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music”. Imagine if you will all these genres thrown into a blender and out comes a unique loud tornado of electronic sounding rock / punk infused with the afore mentioned genres.  All this is wrapped up in colourful Mandala artwork by Lucie Hannon so if you are intrigued then read on.

This is original indie – fringe music, emanating a unique sound that somehow only bands from Wellington can produce, but it left me wondering how you dance to it. And if you are brave enough how do you dance to it without hurting yourself? These are questions that needed answering so I took to YouTube to see exactly what one does at an Electricka Zoo gig.  I found a wee clip that indicated people were in such awe that moving was not an option, but I am sure things heated up later, and I am almost certain Show Me Your House Moves will grow on me.

The more you listen to The Electricka Zoo the more the Ethno vibe shines through thanks to Dave Edwards(alter ego Black) and his travels.  Dave’s audio-visual projects come under the umbrella label of Fiffdimenson, which if you take a closer look  is very world music focused.

These guys will be playing at the NZ Fringe Fest in Wellington, March 9, 10 and 16, 2018, and I am very tempted to do a road trip to my favourite place in the whole wide world, just so I can seek them out and see if this is danceable music. I salute anyone that makes a whole album out of EDM post-punk avant-garde rock / jazz, raggae, Balkan, Portuguese music.

They will be annihilating our airwaves before you know it, or at least emanating out into the darkness from the Valhalla.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About The Electricka Zoo

The Electricka Zoo are a bass/guitar and live electronica duo of Dave Black and the Digitator.

They combine diverse influences from EDM to postpunk avant-garde rock, jazz, reggae, Balkan and Portuguese music into a unique homegrown NZ sound.

Their self-recorded and self-funded debut album, along with images and youtube clips, is available from www.fiffdimension.com/the-electricka-zoo as well as on bandcamp, spotify, Amazon, google play etc

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Electricka Zoo

Releases

The Electricka Zoo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Deconstructed (Between The Pieces)
09 May 2018 // by Corinner
Jamie Denton, based in Auckland, is the man behind Empire To Ashes, producing mind-bending music which is described as alternative electronica. His latest offering is titled Deconstructed [Between The Pieces], which very cleverly follows on from [In Pieces] which was released in January 2018.
Read More...
NRG Rising - Single Review: Take Us High
25 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
The mother and daughters reggae trio NRG Rising from Hamilton, first entered into the music scene in 2011 with their debut album From Darkness To Light, and have gathered a strong and loyal following ever since. The band’s latest single Take Us High has been described as a “catchy, soulful tune echoing the popular 1990’s style of R&B”.
Read More...
Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem