19 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Lorde @ Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington - 11/11/2017

16 Nov 2017 // A review by Freecell

A 20 year old Auckland raised girl kicked off a concert named Melodrama at the Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington Central on Saturday the 11th of November. This girl is Ella - also known as Lorde - the popular artist that had turned famous overnight at 16 and had since created 2 successful albums and 1 EP.

"A couple rebel Top Gun pilots flying with nowhere to be...." The night started with Lorde's unique, smokey voice singing Homemade Dynamite, whilst the audience screamed in excitement to welcome her presence and the lights shown the words "MELODRAMA". Lorde continued into her second song that she created in conjunction with the talented Disclosure - Magnets. In her white top with frilly shoulder design and black pants she said to the audience "Make it raw and make it real but we're in it together tonight, Wellington!" and the audience went into a frenzy once more leading into the song Tennis Court from her first album Pure Heroine.

Lorde's interaction with the audience is continuous throughout in her down to earth, relaxed style. I particularly enjoyed her reminiscing back to her first show in Wellington three years ago when she was still underage requiring her mum to travel with her as a guardian. This was before she earned a dressing room and had to walk through the crowds saying "excuse me, excuse me" before she could get to the performance venue. The memory is vivid and looking back now she described herself as a bit "lame back then", but also felt very grateful that people are willing to listen to her singing and talking on stage now and had shed her first on-stage tear in Christchurch in the same week as the love and passion from her fans struck her so strongly.

Two modern dancers joined her on stage as she sung Hard Feelings/Loveless softly and coarsely enunciating each word of the lyrics. The lyrics she writes is the part of music that is worth exploring - it's raw, vivid and reflects her style. Before she started her next song, she got out a little blue xylophone and stated playing the tune from the song Buzzcut Season.

My favourite two songs from this concert was The Louvre and Liability. The Louvre had a pluck guitar musical with the drums, which was the simplest compliment to Lorde's voice losing it to the beat and the imagination of the love affair with a megaphone to her chest and "broadcasting boom boom boom make 'em all dance to it". Liability sounds like a sad song talking about how an ex expressed that she was "you're a little much for me, you're a liability". The melody of the song sounds little like the beginning of Welcome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance, but instead of the lively lyrics "liability" is very much a slower, nostalgic version as we "watch me disappear into the sun".

Bruce Springsteen's I'm on Fire was also sung as the Lorde's twelveth song and she only had the guitarist accompanying her. This was definitely Lorde's gentle, acoustic version. She kept it short and simple without taking away the old fashioned classic melody.

Lorde finished off with Greenlight as the lights flickered with sharp colours and cherry blossom confetti in the air. She said "this one is special.. is all joy all pain and all pettiness and insanity". The visual effect really complimented her smokey voice - not that the audience needed anymore stimulation to enjoy and embrace the night.

After the lights went dark, the audients refused to leave. "Encore" was echoing randomly from all parts of the seating. The echoes eventually became a slight clapping and loud clapping as Lorde ran back on stage and hold both her index fingers up to quieten the audience for her final song - a beautiful compilation of Loveless Generation and Writer In The Dark.

Lorde's concert was definitely well worth going. If you thought her songs were good listening to the radio or her album, her singing live was even better! She is a youthful old soul in the music world. She is truly unique. From a little girl playing with notes and seeing what she can come up with to a beautiful young woman thriving on the big stage, dancing as if nobody is watching with an overwhelmingly supportive audience.


Review written by Jenny Wan

About Lorde

Lorde is the new breed. Stripped back sounds, fathom-deep lyrics and a social commentary that is pin sharp. Intense, intelligent and in town.

Raised on a nutritious musical diet of Neil Young, Fleetwood Mac, The Smiths and Nick Drake, alongside a smattering of soul food from the likes of Etta James and Otis Redding, Ella was definitely set off on strong melodic footing.

Later she discovered artists like James Blake, Bon Iver, Burial, Animal Collective, SBTRKT and Drake - all of whom made an impact in their own, individual way. As vital and varied as those influences are, they don't really begin to tell the full story of Lorde's music, which melds concentrated, sharp-eyed lyrics and multi-layered vocals with crisp, 2013 beatscapes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorde

Releases

Melodrama
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Love Club
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Pure Heroine
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Freecell

Gig Review: Salmonella Dub Feat. Tiki Taane @ Owen Delaney Park, Taupo - 3/02/2018
09 Feb 2018 // by Freecell
Salmonella Dub are multiple platinum album sellers and award winners famous for their Dub n' Bass sound an important part of New Zealand's music history. This show was about the band reuniting with Tiki Taane.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: [in pieces]
26 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Empire to Ashes new album [in pieces] is like a soundtrack of ambient alternative art. The music videos that I have seen are amazing and full of surreal visualisations that tells a story.
Read More...
Festival Review: Bay Dreams 2018
21 Jan 2018 // by Freecell
Bay Dreams 2018 was the biggest one yet, from start to finish this was a great day out, great people, great services for drinks and food, rides and a brand new set up this year. The main stage was closer to the other stages so it made it quicker to get around all of the stages to see the artists.
Read More...
Gig Review: Roni Size @ The Studio, Auckland - 27/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Freecell
V Energy and Audiology brings DnB legend and pioneer Roni Size touring his New Forms Anniversary Live show at The Studio in Auckland. I had arrived early at the entrance I could already hear some drum and bass playing walking down to the stage I realised how long its been since I was last at The Studio, suddenly the memories flow in from previous events of Shift to BSE, the venue had character and a lot of history.
Read More...
Bespin - Single Review: East of Her
07 Sep 2017 // by Freecell
Auckland three-piece and Critics Choice prize winners Bespin return with a new track - East of Her.The song intro starts with a synthesised sound and a bass with an Interesting effect drawing you in.
Read More...
Radio Therapy - EP Review: Ruby
08 Aug 2017 // by Freecell
This EP starts off with a guitar intro and left speaker panning making for some very interesting sound engineering on Light in Darkness, the riff starts off and then the full band starts playing. My first impression is that it reminds me of Pennywise but different with a high energy rock punk feel.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Single Review: My Own Phantom Limb
14 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
This song starts off with a scratchy eerie sound with a soothing modulated synthesized sound that gradually gets louder. The intro of the video reminds of Japanese horror movie 'The Ring' The visualisations change into random high quality images.
Read More...
Gig Review: State of Mind with MC Rolex @ Static, Hamilton - 30/06/17
09 Jul 2017 // by Freecell
The Drum & Bass Massive presents: State of Mind with MC Rolex with local support from: Freecell, Hijenkx, Harlan Jones, Califresh, Snead place project and Wilks. This Event was at Static, 5 Hood St, Hamilton.
Read More...
View All Articles By Freecell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem